Search icon


16th Aug 2023

Ulster players dominate Minor Football Team of the Year selection

Lee Costello


Ulster have 11 players in the team.

Ulster players dominate the Minor Football Team of the Year selection, as they take an incredible 11 places out of the 15 available.

All-Ireland champions Derry make up the lion’s share of the team as six players from the Oakleaf county earn their spot, with others unlucky to lose out.

Derry beat Monaghan in an all-Ulster final, that resulted in them winning their second All-Ireland in just a three year period at minor level.

With the senior team winning back to back Ulster titles, and reaching consecutive semi-finals, the future certainly looks bright for the men in red.

Monaghan were worthy adversaries in the final and five of their players made it into the team, including Tommy Mallen and Seán Óg McElwain in the half forward line, who both play for Scotstown.

Kerry have two players in the team, both from Austin Stacks, while corner back Eoin McGreal from Mayo and Ryan Mitchell from Dublin are the sole representatives of their counties.

Derry star Johnny McGuckian, from Watty Graham’s Glen, has picked up the Player of the Year award, and it wouldn’t surprise anyone if we started seeing this young man feature more for the club’s very successful senior team that reached last year’s All-Ireland club final.

2023 Electric Ireland football minor star team of the year:


1. Jamie Mooney (Monaghan and Cremartin Shamrocks)

2. Jack Lynch (Monaghan and Monaghan Harps)

3. Fionn McEldowney (Derry and Slaughtneil)

4. Eoin McGreal (Mayo and Garrymore)

5. Cahir Spiers (Derry and Magherafelt)

6. James Sargent (Derry and Lavey)

7. Ryan Mitchell (Dublin and Erin’s Isle)

8. Ben Murphy (Kerry and Austin Stacks)

9. Tommy Rogers (Derry and Kilrea)

10. Seán Óg McElwain (Monaghan and Scotstown)

11. Tommy Mallen (Monaghan and Scotstown)

12. Johnny McGuckian (Derry and Watty Grahams Glen)

13. Conall Higgins (Derry and Magherafelt)

14. Matthew Finn (Monaghan and Emyvale)

15. Paddy Lane (Kerry and Austin Stacks)

Related links:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?