Search icon


19th Oct 2022

Pat Spillane ranks the top 30 GAA players in the game right now

Lee Costello

Pat Spillane top players

Some big names missing here.

Pat Spillane has picked his top 30 GAA players in the game right now, and has ranked them in the order that he sees fit.

The Kerry legend has been fairly obvious with some his selections, but there are definitely a few absentees that could raise a few eyebrows.

Interestingly, only one Ulster player and two Connacht players made the top 10, with the majority being from Dublin and Kerry.

Pat Spillane top players

Shane Walsh was the only Galway player to break into that top bracket as well, while the inclusion of James McCarthy so high in the list may raise questions considering how little he played this season.

Of course, this isn’t the All-Stars, it’s simply a matter of opinion, so you could allow Spillane the privilege of making some selections based on the performances of previous years, and not just the latest campaign.

There was no space for any of the 2021 champions Tyrone, while only one Armagh player made the cut (no prizes for guessing who.)

Pat Spillane top players

However, it appears that the Kerryman was fond of Derry this season and everything they had achieved, including six Oakleaf players in his Sunday World list.

Pat Spillane’s Top 30 county stars.

1. David Clifford (Kerry)

2. Con O’Callaghan (Dublin)

3. James McCarthy (Dublin)

4. Shane Walsh (Galway)

5. Brian Fenton (Dublin)

6. Sean O’Shea (Kerry)

7. Ciaran Kilkenny (Dublin)

8. Lee Keegan (Mayo)

9. Rian O’Neill (Armagh)

10. Gavin White (Kerry)

11. Cillian McDaid (Galway)

12. Chrissy McKaigue (Derry)

13. Paudie Clifford (Kerry)

14. Tadgh Morley (Kerry)

15. John Daly (Galway)

16. Conor Glass (Derry)

17. Shane Ryan (Kerry)

18. Liam Silke (Galway)

19. Jason Foley (Kerry)

20. Tom O’Sullivan (Kerry)

21. Damien Comer (Galway)

22. Sean Kelly (Galway)

23. Ronan Wallace (Westmeath)

24. Brendan Rodger’s (Derry)

25. Gareth McKinless (Derry)

26. Shane McGuigan (Derry)

27. Sean Powter (Cork)

28. Conor McCluskey (Derry)

29. John Heslin (Westmeath)

30. Daniel Flynn (Kildare)

Related links.