Search icon


01st Nov 2019

Howard at 6, no room for Kilkenny or Keogan as All-Star team raises a few eyebrows

Niall McIntyre

Shane McGrath said it as it is.

An All-Star award isn’t a token gesture at the end of a season. It’s a phenomenal achievement, that brings pride to communities and recognises the trojan efforts our great Gaels put in from one end of the year to the next.

“It’s something you’ll take to your grave with you,” said the Tipperary man who won two of them.

That’s a fact.

The ultimate achievement is to climb the steps of the Hogan Stand, but these awards are huge for families and for players.

The hurling team was named on Thursday morning but the football wasn’t named until Friday night at the convention centre.

Among the players who can count themselves unlucky to miss out are Donal Keogan, Ciaran Kilkenny and Colm Boyle while the inclusion of Brian Howard at number 6 raises quite a few eyebrows.

Meanwhile, Sean O’Shea was named the Young Footballer of the year.

Her are the 15 chosen by selection committee.

1 Stephen Cluxton

2 Michael Fitzsimons

3 Ronan McNamee

4 Tom O’Sullivan

5 Paddy Durcan

6 Brian Howard

7 Jack McCaffrey

8 David Moran

9 Brian Fenton

10 Paul Mannion

11 Sean O’Shea

12 Michael Murphy

13 David Clifford

14 Cathal McShane

15 Con O’Callaghan

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?

No posts have been found