Two Leitrim men awarded places on Champion 15 2 years ago

Two Leitrim men awarded places on Champion 15

It's been a hell of a year for Leitrim GAA.

In April, the footballers made their way back to Croke Park for the first time in over a decade.


In June, the hurlers made Croke Park their own.

After winning the Lory Meagher Cup and gaining promotion from the football league's Division Four, there's been celebrations in the Leitrim air and, still, the excitement is palpable.


Now, two of their men have been recognised with places on the GAA's Champion 15 select side for the best individual performances across the Lory Meagher, the Nickey Rackard and the Christy Ring.

Sligo and Meath, champions of the Rackard and Ring cups respectively, lead the way on the team of the year with three players from each county representing them.

For Leitrim, Enda Moreton takes his slot at corner back with a county football and hurling legend James Glancy in at number 6.

Champion 15

  1. Simon Doherty (Armagh) - Nickey Rackard
  2. Caolan Taggart (Down) - Christy Ring
  3. Keith Keoghan (Meath) - Christy Ring
  4. Enda Moreton (Leitrim) - Lory Meagher
  5. James Weir (Sligo) - Nickey Rackard
  6. James Glancy (Leitrim) - Lory Meagher
  7. John Henderson (Wicklow) - Christy Ring
  8. Keith Raymond (Sligo) - Nickey Rackard
  9. Sean Geraghty (Meath) - Christy Ring
  10. Jack Regan (Meath) - Christy Ring
  11. Gerard O’Kelly Lynch (Sligo) - Nickey Rackard
  12. Damian Casey (Tyrone) - Nickey Rackard
  13. Daithi Sands (Down) - Christy Ring
  14. Ronan Crowley (Lancashire) - Lory Meagher
  15. Se McGuigan (Derry) - Christy Ring

Whilst there has been controversy that there's been no awards as such exclusively for the Joe McDonagh Cup, there was a player of the year selected for that competition with Laois man Paddy Purcell receiving the honour.

Player of the Year winners

Joe McDonagh Cup
Paddy Purcell (Laois)


Christy Ring Cup
Jack Regan (Meath)

Nickey Rackard Cup
Keith Raymond (Sligo)

Lory Meagher Cup
Ronan Crowley (Lancashire)