Tony Brosnan runs the show as Dr Crokes sweep to fifth Munster title in seven years 4 years ago

Tony Brosnan runs the show as Dr Crokes sweep to fifth Munster title in seven years

Dr Crokes named a ridiculously strong bench but, not for the first time, their starting 15 did a heap of scoring damage.

Micheal Burns, Jordan Kiely, Darran O'Sullivan and Colm Cooper all took their spots on the bench but Tony Brosnan was drafted in from the start.


The forward has been a revelation for Crokes as they swept to victory after victory in recent months. He has not played for the Kerry senior footballers since 2016 but one suspects he will be called into inter-county service in 2019.

Brosnan registered 0-8 (0-3 from play) as the Kerry champions dismantled St Joseph's Milltown Malbay and swept to their fifth Munster SFC title since 2011.

Dr Crokes were 1-1 to 0-0 up after only two minutes - David Shaw with the goal - and eight points clear after 11 minutes before Milltown Malbay finally got their end of the scoreboard moving.

Brosnan and Daithi Casey were proving tough to tie down at it was 1-10 to 1-4 at the break. Once Crokes dipped onto their stellar bench, after the break, Milltown fell away and eventually lost 1-21 to 2-15.


Crokes versus... Crokes?

Crokes will now play the winners of the Leinster SFC final. That will be contested by Kilmacud Crokes and St Columba's Mullinalaghta.

Kilmacud defeated Portlaoise 1-17 to 3-08 - after late penalty miss drama for the Laois champs - in their semi-final while Mullinalaghta were 2-15 to 0-3 victors over Eire Og.

Over in Connacht, meanwhile, reigning All-Ireland champions Corofin overcame a slow start to defeat Ballintibber 2-10 to 1-9.


Goals from Michael Lundy and Ian Burke were the difference for the Galway champions as Ballintubber ran out of steam after a fast start.

Another enthralling day of GAA club championship action.