Stephen Cluxton way off his line to produce Paul Geaney penalty save
Referee David Gough made the right call for the penalty but did not feel there should be a re-take.
Another big moment in the long, medal-ridden goalkeeping career of Stephen Cluxton.
Paul Geaney had two golden goal-scoring chances for Kerry in the first half of the All-Ireland Football Final, but missed both.
Kerry played really well in the opening 35 minutes but their misses were in the double figures by the half-hour mark. Geaney was denied by a goal-line block by James McCarthy but then had a chance, on 12 minutes, to make up for it.
Gough adjudged Jonny Cooper to have wrapped his arms around David Clifford as he was seeking to contest a high ball with Stephen Cluxton.
Cooper protested his innocence but replays showed that he had, indeed, illegally prevented the Kerry forward from getting up in the air.
Geaney, who has 11 championship goals in his career, stepped up for the spot-kick but never looked confident.
He ambled up to the ball and struck it to his left, and Cluxton's right. The Dublin No.1 guessed the correct way and made a fine save.
The major issue here [pictured below] was how far the Dublin goalkeeper had come off his line by the time Geaney connected with the ball:
The rules state that goalkeepers can move left and right on their line for penalty kicks but cannot move forward until the ball is struck.
With Gough looking on, in line with the square, Cluxton was a yard off his line before he flung himself to his right and made the crucial save.
Many fans were livid with the call:
Glad to see Cluxton back in from Ballbriggan yet after his wander out off his line to save that penalty.
— Liam Porter (@LiamPort) September 1, 2019
Shocking penalty by Geaney, but where was cluxton off too, 2 ft off the line, should have been a retake #AllIrelandFinal
— Jonathan Gildea (@jonathangildea) September 1, 2019
Kerry shooting so poor, need to be pinpoint from here on in. Have thrown away 5 points +
Cluxton 5 yards off his line for the pen, how did the refs missed that.
— edflynn20 (@eddyflynn80) September 1, 2019
Not really. Pen should’ve been retaken. Cluxton off his line. 🤷🏼♀️
— Anna Cournane (@AnnaCournane) September 1, 2019
Just before half-time, Gough made another big call when he red-carded Cooper for another drag on Clifford.