Search icon


29th Sep 2018

Shock result in Dublin SFC as Ballymun Kickhams dumped out in quarter final

Michael Corry

Ballymun out

There was a shock result in Parnell Park this evening as Ballymun Kickhams crashed out of the Dublin senior championship at the hands of St. Judes.

A stoppage time winner from Kieran Doherty sent the Templogue team into delirium following a hard fought win over a star-studded Ballymun side that contained six All-Ireland winners.

Ballymun looked to be in control of the contest as the game drew to a close leading by 1-10 to 1-06 after 55 minutes.

However, St. Judes scored 1-3 down the home stretch to give them a famous victory over the 2013 All-Ireland finalists.

The game came to an exciting end as St Judes levelled with three minutes remaining through a Chris Guckian goal. Dean Rock – who notched 1-7 – replied by putting Kickhams back in front, before former Cork footballer Niall Coakley fired over a free to level once more.

Ballymun out

The winner eventually came in the 63rd minute after a slick pass from Niall O’Shea put Doherty through to fire over and complete a famous victory that sends St. Judes into the semi finals.

Ballymun lost last year’s county final to St. Vincent’s and it was thought that the 2018 campaign would come down to the heavy hitters once more.

They boasted four starters from Dublin’s All-Ireland victory over Tyrone earlier this month in Rock, John Small, James McCarthy and Philly McMahon. As well as that they had panel members Evan Comerford and Paddy Small on the field.

ballymun out

Kevin McManamon was the sole Dublin player on the St Judes team and lined out at full forward. The Dublin legend didn’t score on the night but was a constant threat in Ballymun’s side, setting up Coakley for a goal after only a few minutes.

Ballymun out

Coakley – who represented Cork in the 2017 championship – was Judes star man on the night posting 1-4.

St Judes are now one game away from their first Dublin SFC final since 2009.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?