Mayo make one massive call for Roscommon replay 6 years ago

Mayo make one massive call for Roscommon replay

Their form has been questioned. Their backline doubted. Their frontline lambasted and their midfield dismissed. And yet Mayo are still standing.

Mayo boss Stephen Rochford has named his team for Monday's All-Ireland football quarter final replay and his selections have raised eyebrows.


On paper, Rochford is sending out the same 15 players that started against the Rossies last Sunday at Croke Park. Whether or not those 15 men take to the pitch on the Bank Holiday remains to be seen but, for now, it is a resounding declaration of faith.

The big call is that Lee Keegan has been named in midfield beside Seamus O'Shea. The 2016 Footballer of the Year began in midfield against Roscommon the last time out - marking Enda Smith - but he dropped back to full back in the second half.

Diarmuid O'Connor retains his place in the half forward line and veteran Andy Moran gets the nod again. Rochford resisted the urge to bringing in Conor Loftus, Evan Reagan, Tom Parsons, Donal Vauhan or Fergal Boland.



1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
3. Ger Cafferkey (Ballina Stephenites)
4. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)

5. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
6. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
7. Paddy Durcan (Castlebar Mitchels))


8. Lee Keegan (Westport
9. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)

10. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
11. Aidan O'Shea (Breaffy)
12. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
14. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, captain)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

Some Mayo fans were worried by Rochford's selection calls ahead of Monday's game against their Connacht rivals.


But the Keegan call roused their spirits:


We'll see how it all shakes out.