Mayo are not blinking as they name extremely strong team to face Dublin 2 years ago

Mayo are not blinking as they name extremely strong team to face Dublin

First the first time in 11 tries, Mayo will hope to defeat Dublin.

Stephen Rochford's men rebounded from an opening day loss to Monaghan to turn over Kerry and Roscommon and get their Allianz League Division 1 campaign on track.

On Saturday, they return to the scene of their All-Ireland final replay heartbreak. The reigning league and All-Ireland champions Dublin welcome them to town and will be hoping to end a run of draws after recent outings against Tyrone and Donegal.

Jim Gavin has made two changes to his starting team, with Davy Byrne and Michael Darragh McAuley coming in. Jack McCaffrey and Ciaran Reddin are the ones to drop out.

Rochford has made only one change with David Drake coming in at wing-back to replace Conor O’Shea.

Donal Vaughan has pushed up into midfield while Diarmuid O'Connor, who has done well in midfield, is named in the half forward line. Whether or not the players line out in their stated positions is another matter.


1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)

2. Donie Newcombe (Castlebar Mitchels)
3. Keith Higgins (Ballyhaunis)
4. Paddy Durcan(Castlebar Mitchels)

5. Stephen Coen (Hollymount/Carramore)
6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
7. David Drake (Ballaghaderreen)

8. Donal Vaughan (Ballinrobe)
9. Jason Gibbons (Ballintubber)

10. Fergal Boland (Aghamore)
11. Kevin McLoughlin (Knockmore)
12. Diarmuid O'Connor (Ballintubber)

13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
14. Cillian O'Connor (Ballintubber, Capt)
15. Andy Moran (Ballaghaderreen)

On this week's GAA Hour Football Show, host Colm Parkinspon stated his belief that Mayo really need to put one over Dublin to lay down a significant marker for the months ahead.

"They've lost seven and drawn three of their last 10 games against Dublin in league and championship," he said, "so, psychologically, this just cannot happen again."