GAA JOE Team of the weekend 6 months ago

GAA JOE Team of the weekend

The GAA JOE Team of the weekend.

1 Sean Coffey (Mid Kerry)


East Kerry peppered the mid Kerry goals in the county final but Sean Coffey kept on denying them. David Clifford eventually broke the resistance but none-the-less, this was a fine display between the posts from the Beaufort man.

2 Niall McMannamon (Westport)

The joint-captain led by example for Westport, keeping things tight at the back, before marauding forward for a crucial late point in their first ever Mayo SFC win.

3 Tom Barron (The Nire)


Impressed throughout for the Ballymacarbry based club, and helped keep Rathgormack at bay for a finish in the Waterford SFC final.

4 Kevin O'Donovan (Nemo Rangers)

Won his battle with St Finbarr's key man Stephen Sherlock, and even got forward for a point from play. With that blend of defensive steel, and attacking dynamism, O'Donovan must be a forward's nightmare.


5 David Wynne (Moycullen)

Orchestrated the Moycullen defence in the Galway SFC final, and got forward for a point from play.

6 Niall O'Meara (Kilruane McDonaghs)

The rock at the heart of Kilruane's defence, his composure in possession was a feature of both the drawn game and the replay in Tipperary.


7 Cormac Quinn (Errigal Ciaran)

So often the man that led Errigal's rampaging runs out of defence, Carrickmore just couldn't keep up with him.

8 Peter Cooke (Moycullen)

The America-based Cooke missed Moycullen's maiden triumph in 2020, due to work commitments, so it was written in the stars that he would be the match-winner this time around. His late goal was the difference between winning and losing in the Galway senior football final.


9 Peter Harte (Errigal Ciaran)

As ever, Harte's kick-passing was a class apart and one of his deliveries into Darragh Canavan in the second half was breath-taking. It was his vision and creativity that separated Errigal Ciaran and Carrickmore in the Tyrone final.

10 Adrian Breen (Na Piarsaigh)

Na Piarsaigh have won seven Limerick SHCs in their history, and Breen has been there for every one of them. He won his seventh on Sunday against Kilmallock, finishing his day with 2-3 from play.

11 Conor Gleeson (The Nire)

It was a tense, tight game in Walsh Park, and even though he finished his day with a suspected dislocated shoulder, Gleeson was the match-winner with four points, three of the finest from play in the Waterford SFC final.

12 Luke Connolly (Nemo Rangers)

Connolly kicked 0-8, three from play, in a brilliant display in the Cork SFC final.

13 Cian Darcy (Kilruane McDonaghs)

Darcy scored two second half goals, one as good as the next, as the Magpies won their first county title in 37 years in Tipperary.

14 David Clifford (East Kerry)

1-9 in the county final. 1-6 from play. Getting boring at this stage.

15 Christopher Fogarty (Lorrha)

Had been suffering with hamstring problems recently, which meant he'd hardly trained in a month. But came good on the big day with a dream hat-trick in Semple Stadium, as he inspired the Lorrha hurlers to the Tipperary intermediate hurling title.