Search icon


26th Aug 2017

Diarmuid Connolly misses out as Dublin name team to face Tyrone

Some big calls here

Patrick McCarry

No room for Diarmuid Connolly but we will only believe that this is the Dublin starting 15 when the ball is thrown in on Sunday.

At midnight, Connolly will be free to play inter-county football again. If we are to take Jim Gavin at his word, the St Vincent’s forward will have to wait to get back out on the pitch.

Connolly has missed out on Gavin’s team, with Con O’Callaghan and Eric Lowndes and Ciarán Kilkenny all named in the Dubs’ half forward line.

The Dublin defence is at full strength while James McCarthy has been named to play in midfield with Brian Fenton.

Connolly’s 12-week ban – for laying his hands on a match official – will have expired come midnight. It is not beyond the realms of belief that he could yet be drafted in before action commences.

On Saturday afternoon, Mayo stuck with an unchanged team from the 15 they named on Friday night. Kerry, on the other hand, made three changes to their line-up.


Stephen Cluxton (Parnells)

Philly McMahon (Ballymun Kickhams)
Cian O’Sullivan (Kilmacud Crokes)
Michael Fitzsimons (Cuala)

Jonny Cooper (Na Fianna)
John Small (Ballymun Kickhams)
Jack McCaffrey (Clontarf)

Brian Fenton (Raheny)
James McCarthy (Ballymun Kickhams)

Ciarán Kilkenny (Castleknock)
Con O’Callaghan (Cuala)
Eric Lowndes (St Peregrines)

Paul Mannion (Kilmacus Crokes)
Paddy Andrews (St Brigid’s)
Dean Rock (Ballymun Kickhams)


Tyrone named their team for the last four clash on Thursday:


Niall Morgan

Aidan McCrory
Ronan McNamee
Cathal McCarron

Tiernan McCann
Pádraig Hampsey
Peter Harte

Colm Cavanagh
Conall McCann

David Mulgrew
Niall Sludden
Kieran McGeary

Mark Bradley
Sean Cavanagh (c)
Matthew Donnelly

The semi-final clash throws in at 4pm on Sunday.