Both Cork and Kerry receive boost as injured players return to the starting line-up 1 year ago

Both Cork and Kerry receive boost as injured players return to the starting line-up

Ian Maguire and Sean O'Shea are back in the mix.

Munster championship, and it's Kerry v Cork, a rivalry as old and as fierce as any in the history of the GAA.


This time around it doesn't seem to initially have that edge, due to Kerry's dominance in the league, and Cork's obvious struggles in Division Two - it would appear that the gap between the two teams is sizeable at best.

However, added drama such as the 'Páirc Uí Rinn or nowhere,' saga has started to shift the spotlight back onto the tie, as the uncertainty about the location really dragged on.

With nothing to lose, you would imagine it's The Rebel's who would benefit from upsetting the smooth and predictable build up to the game, anything to throw the Kingdom off.


Now with the team news released, there are some changes that benefit both sides.

In the half-back line, Éire Óg’s John Cooper and Castlehaven’s Rory Maguire will make their full senior championship debuts, while Steven Sherlock of The Barrs and Cathail O’Mahony from Mitchelstown receive their first starts at this level.

Sherlock in particular has been bubbling nicely for Cork after enjoying a hugely successful club campaign with St Finbarr's, who beat Kerry's Austin Stacks in the Munster final.


Better news for those in red and white though, is that Sherlock's club mate, Ian Maguire, is now available to play, after initially being ruled out with injury.

Jack O'Connor has had good news as well, as Seán O’Shea is now fit to play and replaces Dara Moynihan — who is not included in the match day 26 - at centre-forward, and will captain the side, while Tony Brosnan comes in for Paul Geaney at corner-forward.

Stefan Okunbor has been named on the bench, meaning that he is primed to make his championship debut if brought on, and David Moran is also available to use as a substitute, if Kerry so choose.


Throw in is at 6pm and will be live on Sky Sports.