Costly Lee Keegan mistake hands Breaffy huge win in Mayo championship 1 year ago

Costly Lee Keegan mistake hands Breaffy huge win in Mayo championship

The game of the weekend in Connacht saw Breaffy take on former All-Ireland Intermediate club champions Westport, and they just scrapped over the line thanks to a late free from Rob Hennelly.

Breaffy had to withstand a second half comeback from the James Horan managed side. They led 0-9 to 0-5 at half time and looked in total control of the contest until a Matthew Ruane red card early in the second half gave Westport a fighting chance. They took that chance and levelled the game up with 15 minutes remaining.

Connacht GAA

However, it was to end in heartbreak for Westport when talisman Lee Keegan prevented county team mate Aidan O'Shea taking a quick free kick, the referee moved the ball forward giving goalkeeper Hennelly the chance to snatch it at the death.


connacht gaa

Ballintubber also booked their place in the final after dispatching of last years intermediate champions, Moy Davitts on a comprehensive score line of 2-17 to 0-11. Cillian O'Connor was in fine form for Ballintubber, kicking seven points in total, whilst former county star Alan Dillon netted a second half goal in a comfortable win.

Connacht GAA

Mayo kingpins, Castlebar Mitchels also secured a place in the semi finals after a routine win over Claremorris that leaves them on course to lift their fourth championship in a row.

Mitchels led the game 0-10 to 0-0 after 20 minutes, effectively killing the game as a contest. The champions will now play Ballintubber in the last four, a repeat of the 2017 Moclair cup decider.

connacht gaa

Ballaghaderreen are the last team into the final four after a hard fought win over Garrymore. Two first half goals from Darragh Kelly set them on their way before a Cian Hanley goal in the second half looked to have assured them victory. To their credit Garrymore fought back from nine points down to make a game of it, but the three goals proved crucial in the end.

Connach Gold Mayo Senior Football Championship

Castlebar Mitchels 1-20 Claremorris 2-9

Breaffy 0-11 Westport 0-10

Ballintubber 2-17 Moy Davitts 0-11

Ballaghaderreen 3-11 Garrymore 0-18


Claregalway Hotel/Bon Secours Hospital Senior Football Championship

Group 1

Claregalway 3-12 An Cheathrú Rua 1-16

Corofin 0-15 St. James 1-8

Group 2

Annaghdown 1-16 Barna 1-10

Salthill-Knocknacarra 1-9 Tuam Stars 1-8

Group 3

Mountbellew/Moylough 5-23 Naomh Anna, Leitir Mór 2-11

Caherlistrane 3-16 Kilconly 1-11

 Group 4

Milltown 1-17 St Michael’s 0-13

Monivea-Abbey 0-8 Moycullen 0-8


Hodson Bay Hotel Roscommon SFC Knock-out Stages

Padraig Pearses 0-9 Roscommon Gaels 0-10

St. Faithleach's 0-7 Strokestown 3-12

Hodson Bay Hotel Roscommon SFC Relegation

Castlerea St Kevins 0-10 Michael Glaveys 2-11


Connacht Gold Leitrim SFC Relegation Semi Final

Achadh na Silean 0-13 Naomh Pádraig Droim 2-04

Connacht Gold Leitrim SFC Quarter Final Replay

Seán Ó hEislin 1-06 Glencar-Manorham 1-21