Search icon


08th Oct 2021

All-Ireland champions Tyrone receive unprecedented 15 All-Star nominations

Lee Costello

The event will take place on December 10th.

The All-Stars are written by the winners and if you need further proof of this then look at Cathal McShane, who didn’t start a single championship game, but still received a nomination.

This was because on Tyrone’s route to the final he made a huge impact coming off the bench in every game, accumulating the sort of successful season that would warrant a nomination, especial with his goals in the semi-final and subsequent final.

In a stark contrast to recent years, Dublin who normally dominate the list of nominees, only have five this time, with none of them really being tipped to make the final team.

Ulster teams make up 21 of the nominations, including Monaghan’s Rory Beggan, Ryan McAnespie, and forward Jack McCarron.

Armagh brothers, Rian and Oisin O’Neill get the nod, with Donegal’s Michael Langan making up the last of the northern nominees.

Defeated All-Ireland finalists Mayo get eight contenders, closely followed by Kerry on seven, after the Kingdom’s narrow defeat to Tyrone in the All-Ireland semi-final.

The Player of the Year award will be a toss-up between Kieran McGeary, Conor Meyler and Lee Keegan, with all three players having enjoyed incredible seasons.

The Young Player of the Year award will be between last year’s winner Oisin Mullin, Galway’s Matthew Tierney, and Tyrone’s Darragh Canavan.

Official nominees by position:

Goalkeepers: Rory Beggan (Monaghan), Rob Hennelly (Mayo), Niall Morgan (Tyrone);

Defenders: Frank Burns, Padraig Hampsey, Peter Harte, Kieran McGeary, Michael McKernan, Ronan McNamee, Conor Meyler (all Tyrone); Stephen Coen, Patrick Durcan, Lee Keegan, Padraig O’Hora (all Mayo); Brian O Beaglaoich, Tom O’Sullivan, Gavin White (all Kerry); Michael Fitzsimons, Brian Howard (both Dublin); Sean Meehan (Cork); Ryan McAnespie (Monaghan).

Midfielders: Brian Kennedy, Conn Kilpatrick (both Tyrone); Matthew Ruane (Mayo); David Moran (Kerry); Brian Fenton (Dublin); Oisin O’Neill (Armagh).

Forwards: Mattie Donnelly, Darren McCurry, Conor McKenna, Cathal McShane, Niall Sludden (all Tyrone); David Clifford, Paudie Clifford, Sean O’Shea (all Kerry); Tommy Conroy, Ryan O’Donoghue (both Mayo); Cormac Costello, Ciaran Kilkenny (both Dublin); Rian O’Neill (Armagh); Eoin Cleary (Clare); Michael Langan (Donegal); Shane Walsh (Galway); Daniel Flynn (Kildare); Jack McCarron (Monaghan).

Nominations by county: Tyrone (15); Mayo (8); Kerry (7); Dublin (5): Monaghan (3); Armagh (2); Clare, Cork, Donegal, Galway, Kildare (one each).

2021 Footballer of the Year nominations: Lee Keegan (Mayo); Kieran McGeary, Conor Meyler (both Tyrone).

2021 Young Footballer of the Year nominations: Darragh Canavan (Tyrone); Oisin Mullin (Mayo); Matthew Tierney (Galway).