Thomas Barr gets bumped during 400m men's final 8 months ago

Thomas Barr gets bumped during 400m men's final

European bronze medalist Thomas Barr was bumped out of the 400m final at the Irish Life Health National Indoor Championships in Abbotstown on Sunday.

Barr came back towards the starting blocks of the first lap during the final before he was bumped off his line by Andrew Mellon with runners free to change lanes during the race.

The incident was reviewed by judges at the venue but no action was taken with Cillin Greene setting a personal best  of 47.19 seconds to win the race and ultimately secure a spot at the European Athletics Indoor Championships in Glasgow next month.

Elsewhere Phil Healy (Bandon) sped to a new championship best performance of 52.81 in the women’s 400m while Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s) produced another sub 54 second clocking in second with a time of 53.95 seconds that should also rubber stamp her selection on the Irish team.

Meanwhile Mark English (UCD) made it look easy to win his 6th national indoor 800m in 1:51.77 from Zak Curran (DSD) in second in 1:51.91.

Full results



1. Molly Scott (SLOT) 7.32, 2. Ciara Neville (Emerald) 7.40, 3. Patience Jumbo-Gula (Dundalk St Gerard’s) 7.44


1. Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght) 24.13, 2. Catherine McManus (DCH) 24.72, 3. Aoife Lynch (Donore Harriers) 24.83


1. Phil Healy (Bandon) 52.81 CBP, 2. Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s) 53.95, 3. Nessa Millet (St Abban’s) 55.33


1. Siofra Cleirigh Buttner (DSD) 2:04.15, 2. Claire Mooney (UCD) 2:04.67, 3. Nadia Power (Templeogue) 2:06.51


1. Amy O’Donoghue (Emerald) 4:22.18, 2. Ellie Hartnett (UCD) 4:22.49, 3. Maisy O’Sullivan (St Abban’s) 4:24.10


1. Ciara Mageean (UCD) 9:02.57, 2. Michelle Finn (Leevale) 9:14.13, 3. Sarah Healy (Blackrock) 9:24.48

3,000m race walk

1. Kate Veale (West Waterford) 13:18.39, 2. Niamh O’Connor (Celbridge) 13:49.13, 3. Sarah Glennon (Mullingar Harriers) 14:18.78

60m hurdles

1. Kate Doherty (DSD) 8.29m, 2. Molly Scott (SLOT) 8.36, 3. Sarah Quinn (St Colman’s South Mayo) 8.69

Long Jump

1. Ruby Millet (St Abban’s) 6.20m, 2. Lydia Mills (Ballymena & Antrim) 5.68m, 3. Amy McTeggart (Boyne) 5.56m

Triple jump

1. Saragh Buggy (St Abban’s) 13.05 CBP, 2. Lauren Callaghan (Finn Valley) 11.43m, 3. Grace Furlong (Waterford) 11.36m

High Jump

1. Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley) 1.86m, 2. Phillipa Rogan (Sli Cualann) 1.83m, 3. Amy McTeggart (Boyne) 5.56m

Pole vault

1. Clodagh Walsh (Abbey Striders) 3.60m, 2. Ciara Hickey (Blarney/Inniscara) 3.50m, 3. Orla Coffey (Carraig na Bhfear) 3.20m

Shot Put

1. Micheala Walsh (Swinford) 14.44m, 2. Alana Frattaroli (Limerick) 13.05m, 3. Geraldine Stewart (Tir Chonaill) 11.76m



1. Joseph Ojewumi (Tallaght) 6.78, 2. Marcus Lawler (SLOT) 6.79, 3. Dean Adams (Ballymena & Antrim) 6.88


1. Leon Reid (Menapians) 21.42, 2. Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock) 21.64, 3. Conor Morey (Leevale) 21.95


1. Cillin Greene (Galway City Harriers) 47.19, 2. Andrew Mellon (Crusaders) 48.02, 3. Brandon Arrey (Raheny Shamrock) 48.15


1. Mark English (UCD) 1:51.77, 2. Zak Curran (DSD) 1:51.91, 3. Conor Duncan (Ratoath) 1:53.00


1. Eoin Pearce (Clonliffe Harriers) 3:55.54, 2. Eoin Everard (Kilkenny City Harriers) 3:55.79, 3. Kieran Kelly (Raheny Shamrock) 3:56.48


1. John Travers (Donore Harriers) 8:07.89, 2. Paul Robinson (St Coca’s) 8:09.79, 3. Brian Fay (Raheny Shamrock) 8:10.10

5,000m race walk

1. Alex Wright (Leevale) 18:53.87, 2. Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley) 20:16.00, 3. David Kenny (Farranfore Maine Valley) 20:41.92

60m hurdles

1. Matthew Behan (Crusaders) 7.96, 2. Rolus Olusa (Clonliffe Harriers) 8.17, 3. Shane Aston (Trim) 8.33

Long jump

1. Shane Howard (Bandon) 7.44m, 2. Keith Marks (Clonliffe Harriers) 7.19m, 3. Shane Keane (Crusaders) 6.80m

Triple Jump

1. Mark Burton (Queens) 14.29m, 2. Jordan Hoang (Tullamore Harriers) 14.18m, 3. Sean Thompson (Lucan Harriers) 14.04m

High jump

1. Shane Aston (Trim) 2.00m, 2. Kourosh Foroughi (Star of the Sea) 1.95m, 3. Francois Kulik (Sli Cualann) 1.90m, 3. Ciaran Connolly (Le Cheile) 1.90m

Pole vault

1. Michael Bowler (Enniscorthy) 4.60m, 2. Matthew Callinan Keenan (SLOT) 4.50m, Shane Aston (Trim) 4.10m

Shot Put

1. Sean Breathnach (Galway City Harriers) 16.22m, 2. Brendan Staunton (Galway City Harriers) 12.97m, 3. Michael Breathnach (Galway City Harriers) 12.65m