Search icon


07th Feb 2021

Wayne Barnes’ comments show why Peter O’Mahony had to go

Patrick McCarry

Peter O'Mahony


That was the buzz word as Peter O’Mahony saw red after only 13 minutes of Ireland’s Six Nations opener against Wales.

The Welsh were leading 3-0 but Ireland were on the attack and looking to make in-roads, inside the Welsh half, when O’Mahony went ploughing in to clear-out a ruck.

Wales tighthead Tomas Francis was caught in the ruck and O’Mahony came charging in to clear him out. With his elbow out, he made a crunching connection with the head of Francis.

Referee Wayne Barnes initially waved away Welsh protests by saying it was a good clear-out, but the Television Match Official was watching replays of the incident and alerted the Englishman.

As Barnes was shown a replay of the incident, you could see why O’Mahony simply had to go:

“His left arm was almost tucked in a chicken wing action and he’s hit him in the head, hasn’t he? Let’s deal with the facts, first of all.

“It’s definitely foul play. He’s come from a distance at high speed and has hit someone in the head. That’s the facts. He’s not in control. It’s high danger. That’s the facts. Does anyone disagree with that? So the sanction is, red card.”

With no complaints or corrections coming from the TMO, the red card was flashed and that was the end of Peter O’Mahony’s game.

Over on Virgin Media, former Munster and Ireland back-row Alan Quinlan admitted O’Mahony simply had to walk after such a shuddering impact on the head of Francis.

Wales’ Jonny Williams went off for a Head Injury Assessment, not long after, when he hit Garry Ringrose too high and took a jarring knock.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?