Rugby | 9 months ago
Here are all the players Ireland released back to their provinces
Much-needed boosts

With a full slate of Guinness PRO12 action coming up this weekend, Joe Schmidt is allowing some of his Ireland squad back to their province's for game-time.

Schmidt will take 18 players to Monaghan for a three-day training camp, starting from Wednesday, with Rory Best, Andrew Trimble and Johnny Sexton expected to be involved.

Peter O'Mahony will not play for Munster but he may report for Ireland duty to help in his hamstring rehab. Munster director of rugby Rassie Erasmus told reporters:

"Peter won’t feature this week for us. He’s still a week away. I think he might be ready next week but it would be stupid now to push that this week."

With that, 16 players have been excused from national team duty so that they can get in some game-time. Schmidt will draft in academy players for his senior players to run lines against during their time in Monaghan.

Here are the players that have been released for national team duty:

Munster: John Ryan, Ian Keatley and Billy Holland, Rory Scannell and Andrew Conway

Leinster: James Tracy and Josh van der Flier


Ulster: Craig Gilroy, Luke Marshall, Stuart McCloskey and Tommy Bowe

Connacht: Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Kieran Marmion and Tiernan O'Halloran

Episode 37 of The Hard Yards rugby podcast features Sam Warburton, Garry Ringrose and Rugby World's Paul Williams.

While you're here, check out the latest episode of #SportsJOElive where we had Irish legends Shay Given and Clinton Morrison on the couch!

Read more about:

Ireland, Guinness PRO12, Six Nations 2017