Munster sign 12 players to new contracts 5 months ago

Munster sign 12 players to new contracts

Munster have signed 12 new players to contracts with the club with Rory Scannell, John Ryan and Darren Sweetnam all committing their futures to the province.

Munster confirmed the new signings on Tuesday morning with nine of the 12 players coming through the club's academy system.

John Ryan, Niall Scannell, Rory Scannell, Darren Sweetnam, Jack O’Donoghue, JJ Hanrahan, Alex Wootton, Rhys Marshall, Fineen Wycherley, Calvin Nash, Arno Botha and Jeremy Loughman have all signed contract extensions with Ryan agreeing to a new three-year deal that will see him remain with Munster Rugby until at least June 2022.

Five of the aforementioned have represented Ireland with both Niall Scannell and Darren Sweetnam both representing the national team during last month's November internationals.

The contract extensions come on the back of the return of Ireland scrum-half Conor Murray from a neck injury with the half-back delighted to make his first start for the province against Edinburgh on Friday after five months on the sidelines.

"I think for myself, Chris [Farrell] and a few others to get our first start of the season was great," said Murray.

"It was great to get a good win. I know the second-half was a bit sticky and the review should be interesting enough but from a personal point of view it's great to get back out there. It's tough when you're rehabbing and you're watching them train and playing so to get out on the pitch and experience the buzz again is great."