Three Leinster stars make final shortlist for European Player of the Year 6 months ago

Three Leinster stars make final shortlist for European Player of the Year

Just one La Rochelle player makes the five-man shortlist.

The final shortlist for the EPCR Player of the Year have been announced, with three Leinster stars joined by La Rochelle captain Gregory Alldritt and Toulouse star Antoine Dupont.


Garry Ringrose and Caelan Doris have both made the final cut, along with teammate Josh van der Flier. The current World Rugby Player of the Year is also the reigning EPCR Player of the Year after a stand-out 2021/22 season.

Leinster and La Rochelle are set to meet in the Champions Cup final, on May 20, after winning respective semi-finals against Toulouse and Exeter Chiefs, last weekend.

On the latest House of Rugby [LISTEN below], Greg O'Shea and Lindsay Peat discussed the red-hot form of three of the players up for the EPCR Player of the Year accolade - Antoine Dupont, Josh van der Flier and Gregory Alldritt.


Leinster Grégory Alldritt of La Rochelle is tackled by Jimmy O'Brien, left, and Caelan Doris of Leinster. Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile

Gregory Alldritt a big threat to Leinster, again

La Rochelle captain Gregory Alldritt is back in top form after a mini dip in the opening rounds of the Six Nations, including the rare sight of him being subbed off early in the Dublin defeat to Ireland.


It is somewhat surprising that scrum-halves Tawera Kerr-Barlow (La Rochelle) and Jamison Gibson-Park (Leinster) were omitted from that final shortlist, given their red-hot form in the competition this season.  Hugo Keenan is also unlucky to miss out.

Josh van der Flier won the award, last season, despite Leinster falling to La Rochelle in the final. Antoine Dupont was the 2021 recipient with Exeter's Sam Simmonds winning in 2020.


The previous Irish winners of the prize were Rob Kearney, Sean O'Brien and Ronan O'Gara, who was announced as the first ever recipient in recognition of his performances for Munster for over a dozen years in the tournament.

The judging panel that will decide on the winner are - Bryan Habana (two-time Heineken Champions Cup winner), Sarah Hunter (former England captain), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Andy Goode (two-time Heineken Cup winner), Dimitri Yachvili (France Télévisions and Challenge Cup winner)


Related Articles: