Andy Farrell rings the changes as Johnny Sexton returns to face England 8 months ago

Andy Farrell rings the changes as Johnny Sexton returns to face England

A host of changes after the heavy win against Italy, as several frontliners return.

Ahead of this Saturday's Six Nations clash with England, at Twickenham, Andy Farrell has named his Ireland team.


Johnny Sexton returns to the starting XV after being among the replacements for that bonus-point win over the Italians. The Ireland captain will lead his country out for his final Six Nations game, this weekend. This will be the first in a long stretch of 'final' outings for the veteran outhalf, who has confirmed he will retire after the 2023 World Cup.

Joey Carbery drops to the bench after his first two Six Nations starts in a row. Elsewhere, Farrell has brought back big-hitters in his pack and backline.

Ireland front row forwards, from left, Tadhg Furlong, Rob Herring and Cian Healy, celebrate a scrum penalty against England in the 2021 Six Nations. (Photo by Ramsey Cardy/Sportsfile)

Andy Farrell freshens up his Ireland team

With Andrew Porter (ankle) and Rónan Kelleher (shoulder) out of the remainder of the championship, Farrell has been forced into front row changes.

Tadhg Furlong starts, with Farrell opting for fellow Leinster forwards Cian Healy and Dan Sheehan to keep them company.

Behind that row, we have James Ryan back in the team, locking down with Tadhg Beirne. The back row is all Leinster, with Josh van der Flier and Caelan Doris the flankers, and Jack Conan at No.8.


Ireland were comprehensive winners over Eddie Jones' England in the 2021 Six Nations, snapping a losing streak of four games. Ireland's last Six Nations win over England at Twickenham saw them capture the 2018 Grand Slam.


15. Hugo Keenan
14. Andrew Conway
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (captain)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Cian Healy
2. Dan Sheehan
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Tadhg Beirne
5. James Ryan
6.Peter O’Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Caelan Doris

REPLACEMENTS: Rob Herring, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson, Jack Conan, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, Robbie Henshaw.