Search icon


18th Dec 2014

Ireland confirmed for 2017 Women’s Rugby World Cup

Just 998 (or so) days to go

Patrick McCarry

Vacuum pack your bags

Ireland’s scintillating performance at this year’s Women’s World Cup has confirmed the country’s qualification for the next staging of the tournament in 2017.

World Rugby announced, this afternoon, that Ireland – now managed by Tom Tierney – are one of seven nations to automatically qualify for the next World Cup. The tournament is being brought forward a year to fit in snugly between the Rio Olympics and the Rugby Sevens World Cup.

Ireland defeated New Zealand during the summer to qualify for the semi finals of this year’s event. They were knocked out in the last four by eventual champions England. Fiona Coghlan, who led Ireland during the tournament, has called on the Irish Government and the IRFU to tender a bid to stage the next edition.

Ireland, England, Canada, France, New Zealand, USA and Australia are the confirmed nations for the 2017 staging. Five other countries, from Oceania, Asia, Africa and Europe, will have a chance to qualify in 2015 and 2016.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?