History made as Ireland reach World Rugby Sevens Series semi-final for first time 6 months ago

History made as Ireland reach World Rugby Sevens Series semi-final for first time

Ireland's Womens Sevens side have made history by securing a spot in the semi-final of the World Series in Sydney.

Ireland will now meet hosts Australia in the second semi-final, which will take place Down Under on Sunday morning but it is scheduled for 10.56pm Saturday night Irish time.

Ireland encountered little resistance from quarter-final opponents Spain, with Anthony Eddy's women storming to a 22-7 win to guarantee a top four finish.

The Irish came sprinting out of the traps and rushed to an early lead, with Eve Higgins finishing off the very move she started after committing defenders, freeing a teammate into space and popping up at the right moment to claim a return pass 10 metres out.

Captain Lucy Mulhall followed up a successful conversion with a penalty before, in the second half, Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe scored a couple of tries to set her apart as a legitimate contender to finish as the tournament's top try-scorer.

Spain enjoyed a late consolation try while Ireland were allowed to taper down their performance in preparation for their upcoming clash with Australia.

The second semi-final will be contested between New Zealand and the United States 20 minutes before Ireland take to the pitch.

Ireland Women’s Squad – Sydney 7s: Aoife Doyle (Railway Union RFC & Shannon RFC / Munster), Louise Galvin (UL Bohemian RFC / Munster), Eve Higgins (Railway Union RFC / Leinster), Brittany Hogan (Railway Union RFC / Ulster), Amee-Leigh Murphy-Crowe (Railway Union RFC / Munster), Anna McGann (Old Belvedere & UCD RFC / Leinster), Emily Lane (Mallow RFC / Munster), Lucy Mulhall (Rathdrum RFC), Deirbhile Nic A Bhaird (Old Belvedere RFC / Munster), Audrey O’Flynn (Ireland 7s Programme), Béibhinn Parsons (Ballinasloe RFC / Connacht), Hannah Tyrrell (Old Belvedere RFC / Leinster), Katie Heffernan (Railway Union RFC & Mullingar RFC/Leinster)