CJ Stander nominated for the International Rugby Players Try of the Year award 2 years ago

CJ Stander nominated for the International Rugby Players Try of the Year award

Munster and Ireland number eight CJ Stander has been nominated for the International Rugby Players Try of the Year award alongside Scotland winger Sean Maitland and New Zealand second-row Brodie Retallick.

Stander scored the second of Ireland's three tries against England at Twickenham on St. Patrick's Day as Ireland head coach Joe Schmidt won his first Grand Slam with a 24-15 win at Twickenham.

Stander pounced on an excellent break from centre Bundee Aki after a beautifully worked move from the line-out with some very soft hands from Ireland prop Tadhg Furlong.


Schmidt recently said at the Royal College of Physicians that Stander's try had a little bit of 'artistry'.

"Some people wouldn't probably see rugby as an art, there's a bit of science to it and some brutality, but when you see the try CJ Stander scored in Twickenham at minus five degrees there's a little bit of artistry and a little bit of choreography that offsets that brutality and allows people to enjoy not just the physical gladiatorial battle but the real challenge of strategy," the New Zealander commented after he was awarded an honorary Doctor of Arts award by the National University of Ireland.

Ireland have won the award twice in the past with former captain Brian O'Driscoll claiming the honour in 2008 for his try against Australia while ex-teammate Jamie Heaslip also won the award for his try against Italy in the 2016 Six Nations.