Referee Marc Goddard made an unfortunate mistake in Vladimir Seliversto’s knockout win against Alexander Dankov on Friday night after failing to notice that Dankov had been knocked out.
In the final minute of the first round at Fight Nights Global 85, Seliversto caught Dankov with a head kick followed by a right hook that sent the Russian to the canvas and into the cage.
Dankov appeared to be finished in the fight before Seliversto turned to Goddard to check if the referee was happy for him to continue.
Goddard allowed the bout continue as Seliversto mounted Dankov and proceeded to finish a contest that was all but over.
WTF! Ref Mark Goddard makes Dankov to KO his opponent….. TWICE ?
— The MMA Bible (@TheMMABible) March 30, 2018
Goddard is regarded as one of the better referees in mixed martial arts, however, he has yet to issue a statement on the fight.
The Englishman made headlines in Dublin last year when he was at the centre of a cage scuffle with UFC Lightweight champion Conor McGregor at Bellator 187 in November.