The 2016 GAA/GPA All-Star football nominations have been revealed 6 years ago

The 2016 GAA/GPA All-Star football nominations have been revealed

Paddy Bradley only has one All-Star, you know.

They don't hand these things out willy-nilly.


After 65 matches, 61 Dean Rock points and three different Ulster teams that were involved in the championship's highest scoring games, it's over.

What? The Ulster teams thing? Yeah, it's true...


At the end of it all, it's the same outcome as last year. Dublin are champions, Mayo are heartbroken, Kerry and Tyrone are coming.


On Thursday morning, the nominations for the 2016 GAA/GPA All-Star football nominations were unveiled and, unsurprisingly, the capital dominated the list after another clean sweep of league, Leinster, and All-Ireland success.

After a campaign that saw Tipperary reach the last four for the first time in 81 bloody years, Liam Kearns' side are represented as worthy nominees for lighting the championship up and having the balls to dream.


The hurling All-Star nominations will be revealed on Friday morning at 7am.

Here are the best footballers of 2016, according to the GAA/GPA.


Evan Comerford (Tipperary)
Stephen Cluxton (Dublin)
David Clarke (Mayo)



Jonny Cooper (Dublin)
Brendan Harrison (Mayo)
Keith Higgins (Mayo)
Cian O’Sullivan (Dublin)
Lee Keegan (Mayo)
Colm Boyle (Mayo)
Philly McMahon (Dublin)
Ryan McHugh (Donegal)
Cathal McCarron (Tyrone)
John Small (Dublin)
Patrick Durcan (Mayo)
Shane Enright (Kerry)
Declan Kyne (Galway)
James McCarthy (Dublin)
Kevin McLoughlin (Mayo)
Paddy McGrath (Donegal)
Robbie Kiely (Tipperary)
Killian Young (Kerry)


Brian Fenton 26/6/2016

Brian Fenton (Dublin)
Peter Acheson (Tipperary)
Matthew Donnelly (Tyrone)
Gary Brennan (Clare)
Paul Conroy (Galway)
Colm Cavanagh (Tyrone)



Ciarán Kilkenny (Dublin)
Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin)
Dean Rock (Dublin)
Kevin McManamon (Dublin)
Paul Geaney (Kerry)
Michael Quinlivan (Tipperary)
Andy Moran (Mayo)
Conor Sweeney (Tipperary)
Aidan O’Shea (Mayo)
Paul Murphy (Kerry)
Cillian O’Connor (Mayo)
Damien Comer (Galway)
Diarmuid O’Connor (Mayo)
Peter Harte (Tyrone)
Danny Cummins (Galway)
Patrick McBrearty (Donegal)
Seán Cavanagh (Tyrone)
Niall Sludden (Tyrone)

The GAA Hour pays tribute to the unbeatable Dubs and ask where did it all go wrong for Mayo in the All-Ireland final replay. Listen below or subscribe on iTunes.