SportsJOE Gaelic football Team of the Year 8 months ago

SportsJOE Gaelic football Team of the Year

What a year, what a season and what a team.

You have heard from The Sunday Game, You have heard from Sky Sports GAA, but now it's time for the REAL Team of the Year.


Here at SportsJOE we have covered this amazing GAA season diligently, passionately and with all the enthusiasm of a kid who was allowed to open one Christmas present early.

After some strenuous deliberation, here is the official 2021 Team of the Year:

1. Niall Morgan

2. Lee Keegan


3. Ronan McNamee

4. Padraig Hampsey

5. Paddy Durcan


6. Kieran McGeary

7. Peter Harte

8. Matthew Ruane


9. Con Kilpatrick

10. Conor Meyeler

11. Sean O'Shea

12. Niall Sludden


13. Darren McCurry

14. David Clifford

15. Ryan O'Donoghue

Nine Tyrone, four Mayo, and two Kerry players make our Team of the Year.

Sean O'Shea finished as the championship's overall top scorer with Darren McCurry second, and Ryan O'Donoghue just behind him in third.

Niall Morgan was undoubtedly the best performing goalkeeper, not least for his kick outs and free kicks, but he only conceded one goal in the entire championship, which was against Donegal.

Impact Sub of the Year has to go Cathal McShane, who despite never starting a single game, or playing a single minute in the National League, managed to score 2-8, with his two goals coming in crucial moments in the semi-final and final.

Honourable mentions:

  1. Padraig O'Hora
  2. Paudie Clifford
  3. Michael McKernan
  4. Daniel Flynn
  5. Jack McCarron
  6. Ciarán Kilkenny