Mayo recall Moran, Clarke and Boyle for date with destiny 1 year ago

Mayo recall Moran, Clarke and Boyle for date with destiny

Three experienced campaigners have been brought back into the starting 15.

Mayo take on Down at Páirc Esler this evening (7pm throw-in) and James Horan is relying on his old-stagers.

Andy Moran, Colm Boyle and goalkeeper David Clarke are all back in the starting team as Horan makes five changes from the side that lost the Connacht semi-final to Roscommon.

Selecting Robbie Hennelly over Clarke was one of Horan's big shout's but the 35-year-old, who is a two-time All Star, is back in nets.

Clarke (Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie)

Boyle returns to the Mayo defence while 2017 Footballer of the Year Moran is in the full-forward line. Diarmuid O'Connor and Aidan O'Shea are in midfield.


The big blow for Mayo is the fact that Cillian O'Connor misses out on the matchday squad entirely. O'Connor played 20 minutes of a challenge match against Clare, last weekend, but does not even make the bench for the All-Ireland Qualifier.

Seamus O’Shea, James Carr and Donie Vaughan have all missed out due to injuries picked up in recent months.

Here are the Mayo subs, as per the match programme: Robbie Hennelly, David Drake, Eoin O Donoghue, Michael Plunkett, James McCormack, Stephen Coen Mikey Murray, Ciaran Treacy, Fergal Boland, Evan Regan and James Durcan.