Limerick dominate All Star nominations with fair Hurler of the Year spread 8 months ago

Limerick dominate All Star nominations with fair Hurler of the Year spread

Out of the 45 nominees, 14 are from the Treaty county.

The 2020 All-Star hurling nominations have been released by the GAA and the dominance of Limerick, last year, has been duly reflected.


John Kiely's men, who won the league and All-Ireland titles, have 14 players up for All Star awards while Gearóid Hegarty is one of three nominees for Hurler of the Year. The Limerick man will be up against Clare's Tony Kelly and Stephen Bennett of Waterford for that accolade, with Tom Morrissey unlucky to miss out.

When it comes to the All Star nominations, Waterford are next up with nine nominees while Galway have seven. Tipperary's Alan Flynn is the most hard done by in missing out on a nomination.

Such was the way Limerick went about their business that they have a full deck of nominees at goalkeeper (Nickie Quaid), defence and midfield, as well as five nominations in the forwards.

Iarlaith Daly, who had a fine year for Waterford, is up for Young Hurler of the Year, with his competition coming from Jake Morris of Tipperary and Eoin Cody of Kilkenny.

PwC All-Stars Hurling nominations 2020



Stephen O’Keeffe (Waterford), Nickie Quaid (Limerick), Eibhear Quilligan (Clare)


Seán Finn, Dan Morrissey, Barry Nash, Diarmuid Byrnes, Declan Hannon, Kyle Hayes (all Limerick)

Conor Prunty, Shane McNulty, Calum Lyons, Tadhg De Burcá (all Waterford)

Daithí Burke, Aidan Harte, Pádraic Mannion (all Galway)


Conor Delaney, Padraig Walsh (Kilkenny)

Rory Hayes (Clare), Mark Coleman (Cork), Ronan Maher (Tipperary)


Will O’Donoghue (Limerick), Cian Lynch (Limerick), Jamie Barron (Waterford), Tony Kelly (Clare), Michael Breen (Tipperary), Conor Browne (Kilkenny).



Gearóid Hegarty, Tom Morrissey, Aaron Gillane, Seamus Flanagan, Graeme Mulcahy (all Limerick)

Stephen Bennett, Dessie Hutchinson, Austin Gleeson, Jack Fagan (all Waterford)

Brian Concannon, Joe Canning, Conor Whelan, Cathal Mannion (all Galway)


TJ Reid, John Donnelly (Kilkenny)

Donal Burke (Dublin), Cathal Malone (Clare), Shane Kingston (Cork)

PwC GAA/GPA Young Hurler of the Year nominees

  • Jake Morris (Tipperary)
  • Eoin Cody (Kilkenny)
  • Iarlaith Daly (Waterford)

PwC GAA/GPA Hurler of the Year nominees

  • Gearóid Hegarty (Limerick)
  • Tony Kelly (Clare)
  • Stephen Bennett (Waterford)

It is intended that the presentation of the PwC All-Star awards will take place late next month in a TV show that will be in line with Covid-19 restrictions and will be confirmed in due course.