Kerry's record from their last five matches with David Gough in charge 5 months ago

Kerry's record from their last five matches with David Gough in charge

Kerry have won three of their last five matches with referee David Gough in charge.

Gough has received some criticism from some quarters following his appointment for next Sunday's All-Ireland final between Dublin and Kerry with former Kingdom manager Eamonn Fitzmaurice and former player Aidan O'Mahony both questioning his selection on the basis that he lives and works in Dublin.

The Meath man took charge of Kerry's opening league win over Tyrone earlier this year and previously officiated  both the 2017 All-Ireland semi-final replay loss to Mayo and the 2016 All-Ireland semi-final loss to Dublin, where the Kingdom's supporters felt aggrieved over a non-call for a late Kevin McManamon challenge on Peter Crowley.

Prior to those two encounters Gough had presided over Kerry's 2016 National League win over Cork, their 2016 Munster final win over Tipperary and their 2014 Munster semi-final win over Clare.

O'Mahony wrote earlier this month that he feels that you need an outside referee to call the All-Ireland final even though he admits that Gough is one of the best referees in the country.

"David Gough shouldn’t be allowed to ref the All-Ireland final, he lives in Dublin and you need a neutral referee, that’s how I feel," O'Mahony wrote in a Paddy Power news column.

"It would take questions about his performance away from him if he’s not selected to referee it. With Dublin going for five-in-a-row, it puts huge pressure on him too given that he lives in the capital.

"I believe you need an outside referee – who doesn't live in Dublin – to ref that final. Gough is undoubtedly in the top three or four referees in the country, but Croke Park must pick a neutral for the final.

"For someone based in Dublin, I really don’t believe the GAA should put that kind of pressure on Gough by picking him to be in charge."

Kerry enter the game in good form having just lost two games all year; the League final to Mayo and a round six tie in the league also with Mayo.