Search icon


11th Nov 2015

Joe Kernan names international rules squad with no AFL players for the first time in a decade

Going native

Mikey Stafford

Joe Kernan is doing nothing to boost the return of Irish emigrants.

The Ireland manager today announced his squad for the November 21st International Rules Test against Australia in Croke Park, but there was no place for any of Ireland’s footballing Wild Geese.

For the first time since 2005 there are no AFL players in the Ireland squad, despite a record number of Irish currently plying their trade in Australia.

Kernan has Aussie Rules experience in the form of Longford’s Colm Begley and Michael Quinn of Longford, who both had stints with AFL teams, but there is no place for the likes of Zach Tuohy, Ciarán Sheehan or Pearce Hanley.

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - AUGUST 01: Zach Tuohy of the Blues reacts after defeat during the round 18 AFL match between the Carlton Blues and the North Melbourne Kangaroos at Etihad Stadium on August 1, 2015 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Michael Dodge/Getty Images)

Footballer of the year Jack McCaffrey is one of nine All-Stars selected by Kernan, who has selected players from 12 counties in total. Unsurprisingly All-Ireland champions Dublin lead the way with five, while there are some surprising omissions, such as former captain Michael Murphy.

“Unfortunately injuries and club commitments have ruled some players out, but I am happy that we have still managed to assemble a very strong squad and it was a difficult job to reduce numbers down to the squad and the standby list,” said Kernan.

Ireland Squad

Niall Morgan (Tyrone), Colm Begley (Laois), Gary Brennan (Clare), Bernard Brogan (Dublin) CAPT, Eoin Cadogan (Cork),  Mattie Donnelly (Tyrone), Eoin Doyle (Kildare), Peter Harte (Tyrone), Darren Hughes (Monaghan), Lee Keegan (Mayo) VICE CAPT, Paul Kerrigan (Cork), Jack McCaffrey (Dublin), Ciarán McDonald (Tipperary), Philip McMahon (Dublin), Conor McManus (Monaghan), Rory O’Carroll (Dublin), John O’Loughlin (Laois), Aidan O’Shea (Mayo), Michael Quinn (Longford), Donnchadh Walsh (Kerry), Diarmuid Connolly (Dublin), Paul Cribbin (Kildare), Paddy Mc Brearty (Donegal).

Standby List

Paddy O’Rourke (Meath), Killian Clarke (Cavan), Ray Connellan (Westmeath), Kieran Hughes (Monaghan), Gearoid McKiernan (Cavan), Dessie Mone (Monaghan), Colm O’Neill (Cork), Enda Smith (Roscommon)