Corofin clean up in club team of the year awards 6 months ago

Corofin clean up in club team of the year awards

Corofin did the three in a row. Liam Silke and Martin Farragher have won their third Club All-Stars in a row.

Unsurprisingly, the kingpins of club football lead the way on this AIB GAA Club team of the year for 2019/2020 with seven of the Galway club's history makers earning the plaudits.

Behind them, the team is stacked with four Kilcoo players, two from Ballyboden St Enda's and one each from Nemo Rangers and Éire Óg.

Bernard Power is in between the sticks for the second year in a row and while Kilcoo youngster Ryan McEvoy can count himself unlucky not to make it into the full back line, he was up against stiff opposition.

Darryl Branagan and Robbie McDaid were shoo-ins for the half-back line while Kevin O'Donovan got in ahead of Naomh Conaill player Anthony Thompson, who had a stellar season for Naomh Conaill.

Daithí Burke was named in midfield for the second year in a row, this time alongside first time All-Star Ronan Steede. In the forwards, Eugene Branagan is perhaps the hardest done by not to make the team while Luke Connolly also has a case for inclusion.

AIB GAA Club team of the year

1. Bernard Power (Corofin)

2. Aaron Branagan (Kilcoo)
3. Kieran Fitzgerald (Corofin)
4. Liam Silke (Corofin)

5. Kevin O’Donovan (Nemo Rangers)
6. Robbie McDaid (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
7. Darryl Branagan (Kilcoo)

8. Daithi Burke (Corofin)
9. Ronan Steede (Corofin)

10. Gary Sice (Corofin)
11. Paul Devlin (Kilcoo)
12. Seán Gannon (Éire Óg)

13. Colm Basquel (Ballyboden St-Enda’s)
14. Martin Farragher (Corofin)
15. Conor Laverty (Kilcoo)

Meanwhile, it's Ronan Steede, Liam Silke or Darryl Branagan for Club Footballer of the year. Conor Laverty can certainly count himself unlucky to miss out here, the nippy Kilcoo forward having terrorised club defences from Naomh Conaill to Ballyboden the club season long.

Footballer of the Year Nominees

Liam Silke (Corofin)
Ronan Steede (Corofin)
Daryl Branagan (Kilcoo)