Search icon


17th Nov 2023

The 2023 PwC All-Star Gaelic football team has been named

Niall McIntyre

The 2023 PwC All-Star Gaelic football team has been named.

As expected, All-Ireland finalists Dublin and Kerry dominate the team though beaten semi-finalists Derry and Monaghan are also represented, as are Roscommon, through Enda Smith.

Dublin lead the way with five on the team that was announced at a gala black-tie event at the RDS on Friday night.

Legendary goalkeeper Stephen Cluxton picked up his seventh award and he was joined as an award winner by his team-mates Michael Fitzsimons, James McCarthy, Brian Fenton and Colm Basquel, who won his first award.

From a Kerry perspective, David Clifford picked up his fifth award since making his debut in 2018 and he is joined on the team by his brother Paudie, as well as his team-mates Sean O’Shea, Tom O’Sullivan.

Derry’s Brendan Rogers, meanwhile, won his first award as did his team-mates Conor McCloskey and Gareth McKinless, who was named at centre back on the team. Monaghan’s Conor McCarthy was also a first-time award-winner, the Scotstown player having been named at left half back.

Roscommon’s Enda Smith was named on the team at half forward, and he becomes the first Rossie to win an All-Star since Francie Grehan in 2001.

His team-mate Karl O’Connell can consider himself most unlucky to miss out, the 2018 All-Star having had a tremendous season once again.

The full team is named below.

2023 PwC All-Star Gaelic football team

1 Stephen Cluxton

2 Conor McCloskey

3 Mick Fitzsimons

4 Tom O’Sullivan

5 James McCarthy


6 Gareth McKinless

7 Conor McCarthy

8 Brian Fenton

9 Brendan Rogers


10 Paudie Clifford

11 Sean O’Shea

12 Enda Smith

13 David Clifford

14 Shane McGuigan

15 Colm Basquel

Read more:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?