Search icon


16th Nov 2023

Seven Limerick men named on 2023 All-Star hurling team

Niall McIntyre

The 2023 PwC All-Star hurling team has been named.

Seven Limerick men make up the All-Star team that also includes five from Kilkenny, two from Clare as well as one from Galway.

In a season that was markedly similar to 2022, with repeat semi-final pairings, seven of last year’s award winners retain their place on the team.

TJ Reid, meanwhile, won his seventh All-Star award while Diarmuid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes and Eoin Murphy all won their fourth.

Named at centre back on this year’s team, John Conlon, meanwhile, earns the distinction of having won awards as both a back and a forward.

Eoin Cody is the only member of the team picking up his first All-Star award, having won two young hurlers of the year awards in years gone by,

The only change from The Sunday Game team is that John Conlon replaces his county man David Fitzgerald on the team. There are three changes from The GAA JOE team, where John Conlon, Tom Morrissey and TJ Reid are replaced by David Fitzgerald, Cathal Mannion and Richie Reid.

Clare fans have aren’t pleased at omissions of both Tony Kelly, who was the top scorer from play in the Championship, and David Fitzgerald from the team.

The All-Star awards take place in the RDS on Friday at a gala-black-tie event which will be broadcast live on RTÉ Two, with the All-Star football teams and all of the individual awards being announced on the night.

Diarmuid Byrnes, Kyle Hayes and Aaron Gillane are vying it out for hurling’s top award as the player of the year.

PwC Hurling All-Stars 2023

  1. Eoin Murphy (Kilkenny) (2016, 2018, 2021, 2023)
  2. Mikey Butler (Kilkenny) (2022, 2023)
  3. Huw Lawlor (Kilkenny) (2022, 2023)
  4. Dan Morrissey (Limerick) (2018, 2020, 2023)
  5. Diarmaid Byrnes (Limerick) (2020, 2021, 2022, 2023)
  6. John Conlon (Clare) (2018, 2023)
  7. Kyle Hayes (Limerick) (2020, 2021, 2022, 2023)
  8. Darragh O’Donovan (Limerick) (2021, 2023)
  9. Will O’Donoghue (Limerick) (2021, 2023)
  10. Shane O’Donnell (Clare) (2022, 2023)
  11. TJ Reid (Kilkenny) (2012, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2020, 2022, 2023)
  12. Tom Morrissey (Limerick) (2020, 2021, 2023)
  13. Conor Whelan (Galway) (2017, 2023)
  14. Aaron Gillane (Limerick) (2019, 2020, 2022, 2023)
  15. Eoin Cody (Kilkenny, 2023)

Read more:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?