The 2020 Wooly Awards 3 days ago

The 2020 Wooly Awards

The ninth annual edition of the Wooly awards took place on Thursday with the heroes and the flops of 2020 being honoured.

There are nine awards in both Gaelic football and in hurling with Colm Parkinson, Conor Heneghan and Paddy Stapleton debating and discussing a variety of topics from goal of the year to individual performance of the year to flop of the year.

Goal of the year

Gaelic football

  • Mark Keane (Cork) v Kerry


  • Richie Hogan v Galway (Hurling)

Flop of the year

Gaelic football

  • Kerry


  • Offaly

Most incredible finish to a game

  • Dungannon Swifts (Tyrone county champions)

Controversy of the year

  • Dr. David Hickey for his comments on Mayo on All-Ireland final day in the Irish Examiner.

"Mayo win all the All-Stars awards and the player of the year and all this sort of crap but they always do because they’re such a tragic outfit. Andy Moran getting player of the year — he played half a game in every match. The Mayo goalkeeper (David Clarke) getting the All-Star ahead of Cluxton there one year.

“Dublin beat Mayo by 10 points in the semi-final last year when it was supposed to be a close match. I don’t have much time for this Mayo team myself," he said.

Game of the year

Gaelic football

  • Cavan v Donegal


  • Waterford v Kilkenny

Individual performance of the year

Gaelic football

  • Cillian O'Connor (Mayo) v Tipperary


Stephen Bennett (Waterford) v Kilkenny

Shock of the year

  • Jack McCaffrey retiring

Most emmbarrassing broadcast moment

  • The GAA Hour.

You can listen to the full show right here.