Search icon


19th Nov 2016

This was the starting XI last time Victor Anichebe scored two in a match

Some right blasts from the past here

Tom Victor

Victor Anichebe could just be the man to save David Moyes’ bacon. Who woulda thunk it?

The former Everton striker, who was handed his professional debut by Moyes during his time on Merseyside, has scored more goals in the last two games for the Black Cats than he managed in his last 23 for previous club West Bromwich Albion.

Anichebe scored twice as Sunderland beat Hull at the Stadium of Light, adding to his strike in last week’s victory at Bournemouth.

And if it feels like a long time since he last scored twice in the same league game, you’d be right to think so.

Anichebe’s last league double came all the way back in December 2006, almost a full decade ago, when Moyes’ Everton beat Newcastle United at Goodison Park.

Everton v Newcastle UnitedLaurence Griffiths/Getty Images

Sometimes it’s tough to gauge just how long ago a game was without looking at the starting lineups, and Everton’s XI that day feels like it’s from a different era (technically it is, we suppose).

The other goalscorer in that 3-0 victory was Phil Neville, firing a collector’s item past a still-sprightly Shay Given to clinch three points for the hosts.

Seven of Anichebe’s 10 teammates that day have retired, with an eighth – Leon Osman – currently without a club in his mid-30s. The exceptions are Tim Howard and Joleon Lescott, neither of whom would be offended if you said their best days were behind them.

As for the opposition, the long-retired Nolberto Solano, Nicky Butt and Kieron Dyer all started for Newcastle.

Or, to put the gap a different way, the last time Anichebe got a league brace his current Sunderland teammate Paddy McNair was just 11 years old.

Here’s the Everton line-up in full

Tim Howard (still playing for Colorado Rapids)

Phil Neville (retired in 2013)

Joseph Yobo (retired in 2016)

Joleon Lescott (still playing for AEK Athens)

Nuno Valente (retired in 2009)

Leon Osman (unattached)

Lee Carsley (retired in 2011)

Mikel Arteta (retired in 2016)

Andy van der Meyde (retired in 2013)

Andy Johnson (retired in either 2015 or 2016)

Victor Anichebe.

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?