Billy Gilmour makes the cut as Scotland announce Euro 2020 squad 1 month ago

Billy Gilmour makes the cut as Scotland announce Euro 2020 squad

It's Scotland's first major tournament since 1998

Steve Clark has named his 26-man Scotland squad for the European Championships this summer, with uncapped trio Billy Gilmour, Nathan Patterson and David Turnbull all making the cut.

Meanwhile there is no place for Leigh Griffiths, Ryan Gauld or Oliver Burke, despite all featuring in the qualification campaign. The likes of Ryan Jack and Oli McBurnie also miss out through injury.

Gilmour, who is 19, has been given some game time by Thomas Tuchel, at Chelsea, after only featuring twice for the senior side from February to April. He has started three games in May, though, and Clark has seen enough to give him the nod.

Former Manchester United and Ireland captain Roy Keane is a fan of the young Scot. Last season, Keane commented:

"I was sitting at home with a cup of tea and a bit of chocolate in front of me and I didn't have the volume on.

"When the game started I got out of my seat, which I rarely do and I thought, 'Who is this kid?'

"There are certain traits you want from a midfielder, whether it's quality on the ball, football intelligence or composure. He had everything, it was one of the best performances I have seen in a long, long time. The downside for the kid now is he has got to back it up."

Scotland have been drawn alongside old rivals England in their group for the tournament. They will also face Croatia and the Czech Republic.


They will begin their campaign against the Czech Republic at Hampden Park on June 14. They then play again on home soil at Hampden Park against Croatia, before travelling down to Wembley to take on the "Auld Enemy" in the form of Gareth Southgate's Three Lions.

The full squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Craig Gordon, David Marshall, Jon McLaughlin

Defenders: Liam Cooper, Declan Gallagher, Grant Hanley, Jack Hendry, Scott McKenna, Stephen O'Donnell, Nathan Patterson, Andy Robertson, Greg Taylor, Kieran Tierney

Midfielders: Stuart Armstrong, Ryan Christie, John Fleck, James Forrest, Ryan Fraser, Billy Gilmour, John McGinn, Callum McGregor, Scott McTominay, David Turnbull

Forwards: Che Adams, Lyndon Dykes, Kevin Nisbet