Search icon


13th Mar 2017

Martin O’Neill includes two new names in provisional squad for Wales match

Well deserved

Conor Heneghan

John Egan has earned this.

Martin O’Neill has named a provisional 39-man squad for Ireland’s World Cup qualifier against Wales at the Aviva Stadium on March 24 and a friendly against Iceland at the same venue four days later.

The clash against Gareth Bale and company will give the boys in green a chance to consolidate their position at the top of Group D after a magnificent start to the qualifying campaign.

Brentford defender John Egan and Reading midfielder Liam Kelly feature in the senior squad for the first time, while Newcastle goalkeeper Rob Elliot returns for the first time in a year.

Shane Duffy (foot injury) and Robbie Brady (suspended) are the most significant absentees, while there are inclusions for Preston North End duo Daryl Horgan and Andy Boyle and for Aston Villa’s Conor Hourihane after recent good showings in the Championship.

The squad will report into camp on Sunday, March 19 for the Three FAI International Football Awards, which will be broadcast live on RTE2 at 8.30pm; the shortlist for the awards will be announced on Tuesday, March 14.

Republic of Ireland Provisional Squad

Goalkeepers: Colin Doyle (Bradford City), Rob Elliot (Newcastle United), Darren Randolph (West Ham United), Keiren Westwood (Sheffield Wednesday)

Defenders: Seamus Coleman (Everton), Cyrus Christie, Richard Keogh, Alex Pearce (Derby County), Paul McShane (Reading), Andy Boyle (Preston North End), John O’Shea (Sunderland), Ciaran Clark (Newcastle United), John Egan (Brentford), Stephen Ward (Burnley), Matt Doherty (Wolverhampton Wanderers)

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady, Daryl Horgan (Preston North End), Glenn Whelan (Stoke City), James McCarthy (Everton), Jeff Hendrick, Robbie Brady (Burnley), David Meyler (Hull City), Liam Kelly (Reading), Darron Gibson (Sunderland), Harry Arter (Bournemouth), Eunan O’Kane (Leeds United), Conor Hourihane (Aston Villa), Stephen Gleeson (Birmingham City), Wes Hoolahan (Norwich City), Anthony Pilkington (Cardiff City), Callum O’Dowda (Bristol City), Jonathan Hayes (Aberdeen), James McClean (West Bromwich Albion)

Forwards: Kevin Doyle (Colorado Rapids), Shane Long (Southampton), David McGoldrick (Ipswich Town), Daryl Murphy (Newcastle United), Adam Rooney (Aberdeen), Jonathan Walters (Stoke City)

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?