Man United claim Luke Shaw misheard referee over penalty decision 1 month ago

Man United claim Luke Shaw misheard referee over penalty decision

Shaw told Sky Sports after the game he had overheard a conversation between Stuart Attwell and Harry Maguire

Manchester United have said Luke Shaw misheard comments made by Stuart Attwell to Harry Maguire as the referee explained why he had not awarded a penalty in Sunday's goalless draw against Chelsea.

Callum Hudson-Odoi appeared to handle the ball inside the area during the first half of the Premier League game, with Attwell asked to review the incident on a pitch-side monitor before deciding it was not worthy of a penalty.

Speaking to Sky Sports after the game, Shaw said he believed the referee had told Maguire he had decided not to give the penalty because it would "cause a lot of talk".

"At the time, I saw a handball," the left-back told Geoff Shreeves after the game. "I didn't know whether it was Mason [Greenwood] or Callum. I just carried on. I didn't even know there was a potential check.

"I don't know why they stopped [the game] if it wasn't going to be a pen. The ref even said to H(arry Maguire) - I heard him say - 'If I say it's a pen it's going to cause a lot of talk about it after,' so I don't know what happened there.

"H said he got told it was a pen by VAR, so I'm not sure what's gone on."

Advertisement

Despite his comments, United moved quickly to brief various media outlets that Maguire had alerted officials that Shaw had misheard the conversation.

United manager, Ole Gunnar Solskjaer, also appeared to suggest he was unhappy with what Attwell had said after the decision, but refused to be drawn on exactly what the official had said to his players.

Solskjaer also suggested "outside influences" were preventing United from getting key decisions. United were awarded 11 penalties up until January of this season but have only had two since Jurgen Klopp spoke about their multiple awards after a league defeat to Southampton.