Trent Alexander-Arnold included in 26-man England Euro 2020 squad 1 year ago

Trent Alexander-Arnold included in 26-man England Euro 2020 squad

Big calls here.

Trent Alexander-Arnold has made it into Gareth Southgate's 26-man Euro 2020 squad, despite widely circulated reports that he would be cut from the 33-man provisional squad.


The headline news is that Trent Alexander-Arnold and Harry Maguire are in, but there is no place for Jesse Lingard or Ollie Watkins.

After the provisional squad was announced last week ahead of the Europa League and Champions League finals, it was today cut down to 26.


The unlucky seven to have been cut include: Aaron Ramsdale, Ben White, James Ward-Prowse, Jesse Lingard, Mason Greenwood and Ollie Watkins the seven players who failed to make the grade.

Greenwood withdrew from the squad on Tuesday morning due to an underlying injury, saving Southgate one selection headache, with Bukayo Saka benefitting from his misfortune and being kept in the final squad.


In defence, Brighton's Ben White andEverton's Ben Godfrey been dropped.

After much speculation about which of the four right-backs in the provisional squad would be cut, the consensus appeared to be that due to his defensive shortcomings, Trent Alexander-Arnold would not make the final squad. But the Liverpool star has made it in.

Sky Sports News first reported Alexander-Arnold's surprise inclusion at 3:30pm on Tuesday, with various reports indicating that there had been a sudden change of heart at the eleventh hour among the England camp, as Southgate intends to use him in midfield–where he played in the youth team at Liverpool.

Ward-Prowse and Lingard narrowly miss out, with 17-year-old Jude Bellingham one of the four natural central midfielders selected, alongside Jordan Henderson, Declan Rice, and Kalvin Phillips.


The full 26-man squad is as follows:

Goalkeepers: Jordan Pickford, Sam Johnstone, Dean Henderson.

Defenders: Reece James, Kyle Walker, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Kieran Trippier, John Stones, Harry Maguire, Tyrone Mings, Conor Coady, Ben Chilwell, Luke Shaw.

Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Kalvin Phillips, Declan Rice, Jude Bellingham, Mason Mount, Jack Grealish.

Forwards: Bukayo Saka, Phil Foden, Jadon Sancho, Raheem Sterling, Marcus Rashford, Dominic Calvert-Lewin, Harry Kane (captain.)

Due to the complications that Covid-19 can create, this squad can be changed at any time over the next 12 days.