PRO14 confirm conference changes for the 2019/20 season 1 year ago

PRO14 confirm conference changes for the 2019/20 season

The PRO14 have swapped six teams from their conferences for the upcoming 2019/20 season.

The Irish teams have retained their split with Ulster once again joining champions Leinster while Connacht will join Munster in conference B.

Leinster and Ulster move from conference B to conference A where they will join the Ospreys, Dragons, Zebre, the Cheetahs and last season's finalists the Glasgow Warriors.

Meanwhile Munster and Connacht will be joined in conference B by Cardiff, Scarlets, Edinburgh, Treviso and the Southern Kings.

Using the Conference tables completed after Round 21 of the 2018/19 Guinness PRO14 season, teams were ordered from one to 14 based upon their final points totals and then ranked within their union.

The criteria for placing teams in each Conference relies on competitiveness and ensuring an equal spread of teams from each union are present in both Conferences. As a result, the Conferences for the next two seasons are as follows:

Conference A
Glasgow Warriors (SCO 1)
Leinster Rugby (IRE 2)
Ulster Rugby (IRE 3)
Ospreys Rugby (WAL 1)
Dragons Rugby (WAL 4)
Zebre Rugby Club (ITA 2)
Toyota Cheetahs (SA 1)

Conference B
Edinburgh Rugby (SCO 2)
Munster Rugby (IRE 1)
Connacht Rugby (IRE 4)
Cardiff Blues (WAL 2)
Scarlets (WAL 3)
Benetton Rugby (ITA 1)
Isuzu Southern Kings (SA 2)