Munster and Leinster name teams for Champions Cup semi-finals 1 year ago

Munster and Leinster name teams for Champions Cup semi-finals

Munster were up against it before any of this.

Saracen's away is a trip right into the lion's den anyway but Munster's task has got even less enviable prior to their Champions Cup semi-final showdown. Johann van Graan's side will travel to Allianz Park depleted with key men Keith Earls and Joey Carbery ruled out injured.

The flying winger has failed to recover from a thigh injury while Carbery's hamstring injury paves the way for Tyler Bleyendaal to start at out half.

Mike Haley meanwhile, comes into the side at full back while Darren Sweetnam and Andrew Conway man the wings. The good news is that Jean Kleyn has been passed fit but even with the South African at his beastly best, Munster will have their backs to the wall from 3.15 on Saturday.


15. Mike Haley 14. Andrew Conway 13. Chris Farrell 12. Rory Scannell 11. Darren Sweetnam 10. Tyler Bleyendaal 9. Conor Murray; 1. Dave Kilcoyne 2. Niall Scannell 3. John Ryan 4. Jean Kleyn 5. Tadhg Beirne 6. Peter O’Mahony (C) 7. Jack O’Donoghue 8. CJ Stander.

Replacements: 16. Rhys Marshall 17. Jeremy Loughman 18. Stephen Archer 19. Billy Holland 20. Arno Botha 21. Alby Mathewson 22. JJ Hanrahan 23. Dan Goggin.


The team news is easier on Leinster eyes with their talisman Johnny Sexton back in business after a quad injury. That's one strong Leinster team that will host Toulouse in the Aviva on Sunday at 3.15.

15. Rob Kearney 14. Jordan Larmour 13. Garry Ringrose 12. Robbie Henshaw 11. James Lowe 10. Johnny Sexton 9. Luke McGrath
1. Cian Healy 2. Seán Cronin 3. Tadhg Furlong 4. Devin Toner 5. James Ryan 6. Rhys Ruddock 7. Seán O’Brien 8. Jack Conan

Replacements: 16. James Tracy 17. Ed Byrne 18. Michael Bent 19. Scott Fardy 20. Max Deegan 21. Hugh O’Sullivan 22. Ross Byrne 23. Rory O’Loughlin