Two big changes as Ireland name team to face Wales 7 months ago

Two big changes as Ireland name team to face Wales

The game is afoot.

Andy Farrell got off to a winning start in the Guinness Six Nations opener against Scotland. Keeping up with his earlier than usual announcements, Farrell today named his Ireland team to face Wales in their next outing.

There are two changes to the starting XV from the 19-12 victory over the Scots. Peter O'Mahony replaces Caelan Doris, who was concussed on Saturday, in the back row with CJ Stander shifting to No.8 from the start.

Robbie Hemshaw starts at 13 in place of the injured Garry Ringrose. On the bench, Keith Earls and Max Deegan are elevated and Dave Kilcoyne is named but may yet be replaced by Jack McGrath if he does not hit all the Return To Play protocol markers.

With Earls named No.23 it means no place in the matchday squad for Stuart McCloskey, Chris Farrell or Will Addison. Deegan will win his first Test cap if he appears off the bench against the Grand Slam champions on Saturday.

Conor Murray has staved off the threat of fellow scrumhalf John Cooney while Johnny Sexton captains the Ireland team from outhalf.

Ireland team vs. Wales

15. Jordan Larmour
14. Andrew Conway
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Jacob Stockdale
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray

1. Cian Healy
2. Rob Herring
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. James Ryan
5. Iain Henderson
6. Peter O'Mahony
7. Josh van der Flier
8. CJ Stander

Replacements: Kelleher, Kilcoyne, Porter, Toner, Deegan, Cooney, Byrne, Earls.



Barry Murphy and Andrew Trimble are joined by Jerry Flannery, Eddie O'Sullivan and Ali Miller in Reardens, Cork as House of Rugby sets its sights on the 2020 Guinness Six Nations.