Changes made as Andy Farrell names Ireland team to face Scotland 1 year ago

Changes made as Andy Farrell names Ireland team to face Scotland

Nothing too drastic, but some changes made for the final run-out.

Andy Farrell has made some changes to his Ireland team for Saturday's Six Nations clash with Scotland at the Aviva Stadium.


With James Ryan and Ryan Baird out injured, Farrell was also going to have to make one starting XV change. Iain Henderson comes into the second row from the start, and there are another couple of tweaks.

Johnny Sexton will once again captain Ireland as they seek to secure a Triple Crown by beating the Scots, and putting some heat on France before their close out the championship with an evening encounter with England. A France win would secure a Grand Slam, but defeat would most likely see Ireland capture the title.

Six Nations Ireland players, from left, Conor Murray, Robbie Henshaw and Josh van der Flier pictured during the national anthem a November 2021 game against Argentina. (Photo by Seb Daly/Sportsfile)

Andy Farrell names his final Ireland team of 2022 Six Nations

With Ireland in a good run of form - they have won 11 of their last 12 Tests - Farrell has turned, again, to several of the players that have put them in with a championship shout.

Hugo Keenan, Jamison Gibson-Park, Tadhg Beirne, Josh van der Flier and Tadhg Furlong, despite his scrum issues against England, are all having strong campaigns. All five are in the XV to face the Scots. Mack Hansen also starts after missing out against England.

Ireland have not lost to Scotland at home in the Six Nations since 2010, when they were edged out at Croke Park. The result cost Ireland a Triple Crown, that day, and captain Sexton insists he has drilled it into his current teammates about not taking Gregor Townsend's men lightly.


Ireland team to face Scotland

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Mack Hansen
13. Garry Ringrose
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Johnny Sexton (captain)
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Cian Healy
2. Dan Sheehan
3. Tadhg Furlong
4. Tadhg Beirne
5. Iain Henderson
6. Caelan Doris
7. Josh van der Flier
8. Jack Conan

Subs: Rob Herring, Dave Kilcoyne, Finlay Bealham, Kieran Treadwell, Peter O'Mahony, Conor Murray, Joey Carbery, Robbie Henshaw.