Billy Burns starts as Andy Farrell names Ireland team to face France 1 year ago

Billy Burns starts as Andy Farrell names Ireland team to face France

An immediate shot at redemption for Billy Burns.

As he was when he left the fray against Wales in the first half, last weekend, James Ryan will be a big loss to the Ireland team.


Farrell has named his matchday squad for the Six Nations clash with France and there are four changes in the XV that started the 21-16 loss to Wales.

Ireland team Of this quartet, only Keith Earls (right) will start in the Ireland team against France. (Credit: Sportsfile)

There are big changes in the backline, with Johnny Sexton sitting out and Billy Burns named starting out half. Jamison Gibson Park replaces Conor Murray, with the Munster man not even on the bench. Craig Casey is set for his debut as replacement No.9.


The front row remains the same but Iain Henderson comes in for Ryan, who went off for a Head Injury Assessment against Wales. In the back row, Josh van der Flier and CJ Stander retain their places and there is a first Ireland appearance since the 2019 World Cup for Rhys Ruddock.

On the bench Ed Byrne and Ultan Dillane both feature. Iain Henderson will captain the side.

Ireland team to face France

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Jordan Larmour
13. Gary Ringrose
12. Robbie Henshaw
11. James Lowe
10. Billy Burns
9. Jamison Gibson Park

1. Cian Healy
2. Rob Herring
3. Andrew Porter
4. Iain Henderson (captain)
5. Tadhg Beirne
6. Rhys Ruddock
7. Josh van der Flier
8. CJ Stander


Subs: Ronan Kelleher, Ed Byrne, Tadhg Furlong, Ultan Dillane, Will Connors, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne, Keith Earls.