Search icon


28th Oct 2020

Two changes as Ireland name team for Six Nations title decider

Patrick McCarry

Ireland team

These are the men tasked with bringing home the bacon.

With the 2020 Guinness Six Nations title up for grabs, head coach Andy Farrell has named a strong Ireland team to take on the French in Paris.

On Tuesday, Leinster prop Cian Healy spoke about Farrell and his coaches not naming the starting team to the squad until Wednesday morning. Farrell believes this is keeping his players on their toes and leading to greater intensity in training.

“I haven’t heard anything yet,” Healy commented. “We’re in the dark. Training is hotly contested, we’re all out. We were Level 2 today so we weren’t bashing each other but tomorrow will be a physical session and everyone will have a right crack off it.”

Healy was duly named as starting loosehead in an Ireland team captained by Johnny Sexton and he will earn his 100th Test cap when he takes to the field at Stade de France on Saturday evening.

Johnny Sexton
Tadhg Beirne and Johnny Sexton are both named in the Ireland team to face France. (Credit: Sportsfile)

The Ireland team dropped at 12:20 today and there are just two changes in the matchday 23 for the game in Paris.

Robbie Henshaw comes into the starting XV at outside centre. He replaced Garry Ringrose (broken jaw) in the 50-17 win over Italy last weekend.

The only newcomer in that matchday squad is Munster centre Chris Farrell, who takes his place on the replacements bench alongside Jamison Gibson-Park. The scrumhalf has been declared fit despite hamstring concerns, earlier in the week.

Ireland team to face France

15. Jacob Stockdale
14. Andrew Conway
13. Robbie Henshaw
12. Bundee Aki
11. Hugo Keenan
10. Johnny Sexton
9. Conor Murray

1. Cian Healy
2. Rob Herring
3. Andrew Porter
4. James Ryan
5. Tadhg Beirne
6. Caelan Doris
7. Will Connors
8. CJ Stander

Subs: Dave Heffernan, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Ultan Dillane, Peter O’Mahony, Jamison Gibson-Park, Ross Byrne, Chris Farrell.



Season 3 has returned with Ian Madigan & Eimear Considine as hosts. You can catch up on all our episodes from past seasons and interviews with Conrad Smith, Victor Matfield, Simon Zebo, Sean O’Brien, Drew Mitchell, Jean De Villiers, Finn Russell, Mike Brown, Brian O’Driscoll, Tana Umaga and much, much more.