Search icon


13th Mar 2023

New faces included in Ireland’s final Six Nations squad for England game

Patrick McCarry

Ireland squad

The players that shipped the biggest blows against Scotland will miss out on the finalé.

The Ireland squad for the final round of the 2023 Six Nations has been named, ahead of Saturday’s clash against England. There is a Grand Slam on the line and fresh bodies in the squad for the championship leaders.

Ireland overcame injuries to five key players but rallied well to defeat Scotland 22-7 at Murrayfield.

“It was immense, the character,” Andy Farrell said in the post-match press briefing. “Obviously it wasn’t champagne rugby all round but as far as character and fight and want for each other, that’s the best game I’ve ever been involved in.

“If you’d have seen us at half-time you’d have laughed. The whole team was laughing because it was organised chaos.”

There will not be as much organised chaos this week as the squad will only train at full-tilt once, on Thursday morning, before the match-day 23 is named. That squad has been named, with some ins and outs.

Ireland squad

Changes made to Ireland squad

Andy Farrell has been forced into making changes to his Ireland squad for the game against England. Ross Molony, Tom Stewart and Cian Prendergast are the new faces, along with prop Roman Salanoa. A release from the IRFU on the round five squad reads:


Bundee Aki (Connacht/Galwegians) 45 caps
Ryan Baird (Leinster/Dublin University) 10 caps
Ross Byrne (Leinster/UCD) 18 caps
Craig Casey (Munster/Shannon) 10 caps
Jack Conan (Leinster/Old Belvedere) 37 caps
Gavin Coombes (Munster/Young Munster) 2 caps
Jack Crowley (Munster/Cork Constitution) 3 caps
Ciaran Frawley (Leinster/UCD) *
Tadhg Furlong (Leinster/Clontarf) 64 caps
Caelan Doris (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 27 caps
Jamison Gibson Park (Leinster) 24 caps
Mack Hansen (Connacht/Corinthians) 13 caps
Cian Healy (Leinster/Clontarf) 122 caps
Robbie Henshaw (Leinster/Buccaneers) 61 caps
Rob Herring (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 33 caps
Hugo Keenan (Leinster/UCD) 29 caps
Ronan Kelleher (Leinster/Lansdowne) 21 caps
Dave Kilcoyne (Munster/UL Bohemians) 51 caps
Jordan Larmour (Leinster/St Marys College) 30 caps
James Lowe (Leinster) 19 caps
Stuart McCloskey (Ulster/Bangor) 12 caps
Ross Molony (Leinster/UCD) *
Conor Murray (Munster/Garryowen) 104 caps
Jimmy O’Brien (Leinster/Naas) 4 caps
Peter O’Mahony (Munster/Cork Constitution) 93 caps
Tom O’Toole (Ulster/Ballynahinch) 8 caps
Andrew Porter (Leinster/UCD) 52 caps
Cian Prendergast (Connacht/Corinthians) 1 cap
James Ryan (Leinster/UCD) 52 caps
Roman Salanoa (Munster/Shannon) *
Johnny Sexton (Leinster/St Mary’s College) 112 caps (c)
Dan Sheehan (Leinster/Lansdowne) 16 caps
Tom Stewart (Ulster/Ballynahinch) *
Jacob Stockdale (Ulster/Lurgan) 35 caps
Nick Timoney (Ulster/Banbridge) 3 caps
Kieran Treadwell (Ulster/Ballymena) 10 caps
Josh van der Flier (Leinster/UCD) 49 caps


Related Articles:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?