Four changes as Ireland name team to face England in Autumn Nations Cup 9 months ago

Four changes as Ireland name team to face England in Autumn Nations Cup

All change in the Irish back row.

Ahead of Saturday afternoon's Autumn Nations Cup game against England, Andy Farrell has made several changes to the Ireland team that defeated Wales 32-9 last weekend.


Farrell has restored CJ Stander and Bundee Aki to the starting XV while giving Ross Byrne the No.10 jersey and Keith Earls a start on the right wing. In the back row, Stander is blindside, Peter O'Mahony openside while Caelan Doris sticks at No.8.

The Ireland team will be captained by James Ryan after Johnny Sexton was ruled out with a hamstring injury. On Tuesday, teammate Andrew Conway, who has missed out on the match-day squad, raved about captain Ryan. He commented:

"As a player there are very few like him that I've come across. He's come in and he's been able to transition (the best) from schools to U20s and he was playing international rugby pretty soon after.

"And instead of what happens a lot of people, they might stall a bit or think they have it sussed. He's a fella who will have his week planned out to get better and he's constantly adapting and looking to lead through his  actions. He's also looking to lead by communication and bringing people with him."

The Harmony Federation choir sing Ireland's Call with the Ireland team ahead of the Autumn Nations Cup against Wales at the Aviva Stadium. (Photo by David Fitzgerald/Sportsfile)

Elsewhere in the Irish XV, Ronan Kelleher gets another start at hooker, Jamison Gibson-Park starts at No.9 again while Hugo Keenan is retained at fullback.

On the replacements bench, Iain Henderson is included along with Ulster teammates Rob Herring, Billy Burns and Jacob Stockdale. Conor Murray is reserve scrumhalf.


Ireland team to face England

15. Hugo Keenan
14. Keith Earls
13. Chris Farrell
12. Bundee Aki
11. James Lowe
10. Ross Byrne
9. Jamison Gibson-Park

1. Cian Healy
2. Ronan Kelleher
3. Andrew Porter
4. James Ryan (captain)
5. Quinn Roux
6. CJ Stander
7. Peter O'Mahony
8. Caelan Doris

Subs: Rob Herring, Ed Byrne, Finlay Bealham, Iain Henderson, Will Connors, Conor Murray, Billy Burns, Jacob Stockdale.




Season 3 has returned with Ian Madigan & Eimear Considine as hosts. You can catch up on all our episodes from past seasons and interviews with Conrad Smith, Victor Matfield, Simon Zebo, Sean O'Brien, Drew Mitchell, Jean De Villiers, Finn Russell, Mike Brown, Brian O'Driscoll, Tana Umaga and much, much more.