Search icon


07th Jul 2022

Eddie Jones makes four changes to England team for Second Test against Australia

Patrick McCarry

Sam Underill replaces the injured Tom Curry and Danny Care drops to the bench.

One week after scoring a consolation try on his debut, scrumhalf Jack van Poortlviet gets his first start in an England team named to face the Wallabies in this weekend’s Second Test.

England head coach Eddie Jones has made five changes from the side that lost the First Test, in Perth. Underhill replaces Tom Curry at openside, after the Sale Sharks back-row’s tour was ended by concussion.

That is the only change to the England pack. There are three switches in the English backline, with van Poortlviet replacing Danny Care at 9, Guy Porter in the centre, alongside Owen Farrell, and Tommy Freeman named on the left wing.

Courtney Lawes captains England from the blindside, with Maro Itoje, Jamie George, Jonny Hill, Ellis Genge and Billy Vunipola all included in a strong starting pack.


“This game is the perfect practice for the World Cup” – Eddie Jones

The England replacements bench has a 5:2 split, with flanker Jack Willis an extra forward. Eddie Jones, then, only has Danny Care and the exciting Henry Arundell as his backline cover. Jones commented:

“We have decided to make changes in our back line, they were tough calls but we feel they will strengthen the team. There are opportunities to attack against Australia which we can take.

“We have had solid preparation this week and looking forward to an important game in Brisbane. This game is the perfect practice for the World Cup and our focus is putting on our best performance”

Dave Rennie has been forced to make changes to his Wallabies side, due to suspensions and injuries. Taniela Tupou comes into the front row for Allan Alaalatoa [concussion] while Matt Phillip replaces the suspended Darcy Swain. With Tom Banks and Andrew Kellway out, Rennie brings Hunter Paisami and Tom Wright to his backline.


15. Freddie Steward
14. Jack Nowell
13. Guy Porter
12. Owen Farrell
11. Tommy Freeman
10. Marcus Smith
9. Jack van Poortlviet

1. Ellis Genge
2. Jamie George
3. Will Stuart
4. Maro Itoje
5. Jonny Hill
6. Courtney Lawes (C)
7. Sam Underhill
8. Billy Vunipola

REPLACEMENTS Luke Cowan-Dickie, Mako Vunipola, Joe Heyes, Ollie Chessum, Lewis Ludlam, Jack Willis, Danny Care, Henry Arundell

Related links: