Search icon


29th Oct 2023

Five Ireland stars included in World Rugby ‘Dream Team of the Year’

Patrick McCarry

Bundee Aki

Just the sole, World Cup-winning Springbok.

There are five Irish inclusions in the World Rugby Men’s 15s Dream Team of the Year, with Andy Farrell picking up Coach of the Year. Bundee Aki missed out on the ‘Best Player’ accolade, though.

The announcements were made at a glitzy ceremony in Paris, one day on from South Africa defeating New Zealand in the 2023 World Cup final, in the same city.

Despite going back-to-back with World Cup triumphs, the Springboks have a sole representative in the so-called ‘Best XV’ of the year – lock Eben Etzebeth.

Bundee Aki and four Ireland teammates make Dream Team cut

While Bundee Aki was expected to make the final Dream Team selection, few would have envisioned five Ireland stars being included in the Best XV. That quintet are:

  • Dan Sheehan
  • Tadhg Furlong
  • Caelan Doris
  • Garry Ringrose
  • Bundee Aki

Other award winners on the night

Ardie Savea of New Zealand picked up the prestigious Men’s 15s Player of the Year award.

Also nominated for that award were Eben Etzebeth, Antoine Dupont and Bundee Aki.

Andy Farrell, who led Ireland to a Grand Slam title and enjoyed a 17-match winning streak that stretched back to July 2022, won Coach of the Year:

All Blacks winger Mark Telea won Men’s 15s Breakthrough Player of the Year:

Best Try of the Year went to this crackerjack from Duhan van der Merwe against England in the 2023 Six Nations:

Five more legends from the men’s game were inducted into the World Rugby Hall of Fame:

Full list of winners to follow…


Related articles:

WATCH: Liverpool BOTTLED the title race 🤬 | Who will win the Premier League?