Anthony Foley offers glimpse of Munster's future with bold team selections 5 years ago

Anthony Foley offers glimpse of Munster's future with bold team selections

The Academy lads get another chance to shine.

Munster coach Anthony Foley has tough back-to-back dates with Leicester Tigers on the horizon and is planning accordingly.


Foley has made 10 changes from the Munster side, to face Newport Gwent Dragons, that were shocked by Connacht in the PRO12 last Saturday.

Among the alterations are the inclusion of two academy players - Rory Scannell and David Johnston, who start at outhalf and outside centre respectively. Francis Salli is out with injury while Ian Keatley is another squad absentee.

Scannell and Johnston are the two players to benefit most from Ireland's World Cup adventures. Between them, the 21-year-olds have collected 10 senior caps since the start of the season.

Scannell has predominantly featured in Munster's midfield but he gets his chance, against Dragons, in the 10 jersey. Johnston, from Clonmel, was a member of the Rockwell College team that won the 2012 Munster Schools Cup. His brother, Bill, is also in the Munster set-up.

Rory... he loves a good dumbbell bench press:



Backs: Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino; Ronan O'Mahony, David Johnston, Denis Hurley (c), Simon Zebo; Rory Scannell, Tomás O'Leary;

Forwards: Dave Kilcoyne, Niall Scannell, John Ryan; Dave Foley, Mark Chisholm; Shane Buckley, Dave O'Callaghan, Robin Copeland.

Replacements: Kevin O'Byrne, James Cronin, Mario Sagario, Billy Holland, Jordan Coghlan, Cathal Sheridan, Tyler Bleyendaal, Gerhard van den Heever.

Rhys Ruddock with Dan Tuohy and Sean Reidy 27/11/2015

Leinster coach Leo Cullen has made eight changes from the side that slogged to an 8-3 win over Ulster at the RDS last Friday.

Many of the switches come in the back, with Cian Healy, Jordi Murphy and Tom Denton among those returning to the starting line-up.

Ian Madigan is named 10, with Johnny Sexton rested. Rhys Ruddock captains the side for a challenging away date with Glasgow Warriors.



Backs: Rob Kearney; Zane Kirchner, Ben Te'o, Luke Fitzgerald, Dave Kearney; Ian Madigan, Eoin Reddan;

Forwards: Cian Healy, Richardt Strauss, Marty Moore; Tom Denton, Mike McCarthy; Rhys Ruddock (c), Josh van der Flier, Jordi Murphy.

Replacements: Sean Cronin, Peter Dooley, Tadhg Furlong, Ross Molony, Dominic Ryan, Isaac Boss, Cathal Marsh, Garry Ringrose.